• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Karnataka by-elections: BJP appears to be cruising through


Bengaluru, Dec 06: The BJP in Karnataka has a strength of 105 in the 222 member House. The party would require to win a minimum of 6 seats to secure a simple majority.

Following the resignation of the rebels, the Congress has 65 members while the JD(S) 34.

Karnataka by-elections: BJP appears to be cruising through

The by-polls to the 15 constituencies were held on Thursday and most exit polls have predicted that the BJP would sail through. The polls have predicted that the BJP would win 12 of the 15 seats. The Congress, on the other hand, would win 3-6 and the JD(S) nothing of one.

The overall polling percentage recorded was 66.24 and Hoskote at 90.44 per cent recorded the highest.

Karnataka by-election 2019: Exit polls predict BJP win in 8 to 12 seats despite tough fights

Following the exit polls, the state BJP president, Nalin Kumar Kateel thanked the voters and also the BJP leaders for their efforts during the by-polls. He said that the party would win comfortably under the leadership of chief minister, B S Yediyurappa.

After a slow pace in the first half of the day since polling began at 7 am with only 33 per cent till 1.30 pm, voting picked up later in the day though it was below the percentage recorded in the assembly elections in 2018.

The four constituencies in the city clocked poor voter turnouts.

Officials said an estimated 66.49 per cent of the 37.78 lakh eligible electors cast their votes in the 15 segments till 6 pm. The figure was likely to go up as at some places people standing in queues at the close were allowed to vote.

According to the figures available, the highest turnout of 90.44 per cent was recorded in Hosakote while the lowest of 43.25 per cent at K R Pura here.

Cabinet expansion in Karnataka after by-polls

City's three other constituencies too have recorded comparatively lower turnout, Mahalakshi Layout 50.92 per cent, Shivajinagar 44.60, Yeshwanthpura 54.13 per cent.

Turnout in other constituencies are: Athani- 75.23 per cent, Kagwad 76.27, Gokak 73.08, Yellapur 77.52, Hirekerur 78.63, Ranebennur 73.53, Vijayanagara 64.95, Chikkaballapura 86.40, K R Pete 80, and Hunsur- 80.71, officials said.

The byelections are being held to fill the vacancies caused by the disqualification of 17 rebel Congress and JD(S) MLAs, whose revolt led to the collapse of the H D Kumaraswamy-led coalition government in July and paved the way for the BJP to come to power.

The BJP needs to win at least six of the seats to remain in the majority in the 225-member assembly (including the Speaker, who has a casting vote), which would still have two vacant seats - Maski and R R Nagar.

In the assembly with the current strength of 208 after the disqualifications, the BJP has 105 MLAs (including an independent), the Congress 66 and the JD(S) has 34 MLAs.

There is also one BSP member, a nominated member and the Speaker.

While the BJP exuded confidence that the people will vote in favour of the party for stability and development, the Congress and JD(S) are optimistic that the voters will defeat the defectors, who have been disqualified and are now the ruling party candidates.

BJP has fielded 13 of the 16 disqualified legislators, who joined the party following the Supreme Court allowing them to contest the bypolls, as its candidates from their respective constituencies from where they had won in the 2018 assembly elections on Congress and JD(S) tickets.

While in most of the constituencies that went for the bypolls there was direct contest between Congress and BJP, in the southern parts of the state JD(S) comes into the picture, making it a triangular fight.

Karnataka by-election 2019 Updates: Voting ends, 60% voter turnout till 5.24 pm

In Hosakote however, BJP rebel and independent candidate supported by JD(S) Sharth Bachegowda is a key factor.

Speculations are rife about Congress and JD(S) not being averse to joining hands once again to form a coalition government in case the BJP fails to garner the required number of seats to stay in the majority.

Besides Chief Minister B S Yediyurappa, whose government's future is at stake, the bypoll results are crucial for CLP leader Siddaramaiah who faced growing discontent against his unilateral style of functioning and selection of candidates for the polls.

The poll outcome is also keenly awaited by JD(S)' Kumaraswamy who aims to keep his party flock together amid threats of further internal bickering.

Among 15 constituencies going to the bypolls, 12 were held by Congress and three by JD(S).

A total of 4,185 polling stations were set up in the 15constituencies.

The fate of 165 candidates - 156 men and nine women - were sealed in the voting machines.

While BJP and Congress had 15 candidates each in the fray, the number of JD(S) candidates was 12. Remaining were all from smaller parties and independents.

Bypolls have been by and large peaceful, barring some stray incidents of arguments between workers of political parties and with police at some places like in Hunsur, officials said.

Tension prevailed in Hunsur after a cop allegedly asked MLA C Anil and his supporters to move away from the polling centre.

There were reports of electronic voting machines malfunctioning due to technical problems in some places like Singayyanapalya in K R Pura, Athani and Hunsur among others, but they were set right and voting resumed, officials said.

Senior citizens and differently-abled citizens came out in good numbers to cast their votes at several places.

(With agency inputs)

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more