• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Karnataka By-Election Results: It’s 4:1 victory for Congress-JD(S) alliance

Google Oneindia News

Bengaluru, Nov 6: It was a prestige test for the JD(S)-Congress alliance in Karnataka and the ruling alliance have won four out of five seats while the BJP's sole victory was in Shivammoga Lok Sabha seat.

Congress's VS Ugrappa won from Ballari -- a Bharatiya Janata Party bastion -- with a massive margin. While the JD(S)'s Shivarame Gowda won from Mandya.

The Shivammoga Lok Sabha seat was the only battle where the BJP had an edge with the party's BY Raghavendra leading. The Ramanagara and Jamkhandi Assembly seats were both won by Congress-JD(S) candidates.

Reacting to the crushing defeat that JD(S) and Congress meted out to the Bharatiya Janata Party, former chief minister Siddaramaiah said, "The victory in the by-elections is Diwali gift to Congress and JD(S) from people of Karnataka. The outcome of the by-elections is an indicator for the Lok Sabha elections. I am thanking the voters in three Lok Sabha seats and two Assembly seats."

Counting of votes in the Karnataka by-polls began at 8 am. By-elections were held for the three Lok Sabha and two assembly constituencies on Saturday.

[Ramanagara Assembly By-Election Results 2018: Kumaraswamy's wife Anitha wins crucial seat]

Karnataka By-Election Results 2018 LIVE

Polling in Karnataka took place on Saturday for three Lok Sabha constituencies - Shivamogga, Mandya and Ramanagara - and two Assembly constituencies - Ballari and Jamkhandi.

[Cong candidate Anand Siddu Nyamagouda wins bypoll for Jamakhandi assembly seat]

Here are the Highlights:

Newest First Oldest First
1:20 PM, 6 Nov
''This elections was the first step. There are 28 LS seats, we'll work with Congress to win all of them, that is our goal.This is not an empty boast just because we have won today. This is the confidence of people in us. This win is not making us arrogant'' Karnataka CM further said.
1:19 PM, 6 Nov
I congratulate Congress leaders in the state & at the Centre. I also congratulate JDS state leaders & workers who worked towards this win. BJP calls JDS-Congress coalition 'Apavitra Maitri', today that contention has been nullified, says JD(S) leader & Karnataka CM HD Kumaraswamy
1:04 PM, 6 Nov
BJP leader R Ashoka states that BJP has managed to make inroads in Mandya constituency.
12:55 PM, 6 Nov
Negative forces have been defeated in Karnataka, said senior Congress leader Manish Tewari after the results were announced in the Karnataka bypolls today. He also congratulated the Congress workers and the Congress-JDS alliance. "This is an indication that the mood of the nation has changed. Out of 10 ten bypolls that have taken place, Congress and like minded parties have performed exceedingly well," Tewari said.
12:54 PM, 6 Nov
Congress Karnataka tweeted a 'thank you' message to the voters and said, "We are grateful to all the voters who came out in huge numbers to support us. People of Karnataka have sent a clear message to the BJP."
12:52 PM, 6 Nov
State JD(S) chief HV ishwanath says by-poll results will make an impact in the upcoming general elections.
12:52 PM, 6 Nov
VS Ugrappa thanks people of Ballari for electing him to LokSabha, says he will work for the welfare of the people.
12:51 PM, 6 Nov
BJP leaders tried to mislead people in by-polls. Congress-JD(S) won because of anti-people policies of Narendra Modi government, says Dinesh Gundu Rao, Karnataka Congress chief
12:49 PM, 6 Nov
Dy CM G Parameshwara says that the by-poll results have conveyed the message that the coalition government is stable.
12:44 PM, 6 Nov
Definitely. In any democratic result, election process...people's mandate is very important. It's the direction to the people of this country, says Karnataka Minister DK Shivakumar, when asked 'will it (#KarnatakaByElection2018) give a message to the whole nation before 2019 election'
11:52 AM, 6 Nov
JD(S) workers celebrate in Ramanagaram. JDS' Anitha Kumaraswamy is leading by 1,00,246 votes in the assembly seat. Congress-JD(S) alliance is leading on 4 out of 5 seat
11:49 AM, 6 Nov
Congress members and workers celebrate outside party office in Bengaluru. Congress-JD(S) alliance is leading on 4 out of 5 seats in Karnataka By Election2018
11:39 AM, 6 Nov
DK Shivkumar further said,''We should win even in the coming general elections. We should keep our words and think about development. We should keep our words and think about development.''
11:39 AM, 6 Nov
Karnataka minister DK Shivakumar said,''Election was peaceful. Our personal prestige should not come in the way of pools. I congratulate BJP candidate in Bellary. In Bellary people have voted for Congress irrespective of caste, creed and religion. We didn't see a vote for 6 months but for 5 years. This victory brings responsibility. I dedicate this victory to our party president Rahul Gandhi.''
11:34 AM, 6 Nov
Meanwhile, Congress leader P Chidambaram made a cricket analogy for the bypoll results in Karnataka .
11:32 AM, 6 Nov
Water Resources Minister DK Shivakumar says,' I was given in-charge of Ballari by-poll by Congress high command. Winning and losing is part of electoral politics.''
11:13 AM, 6 Nov
MLA-elect Anand Nyamagouda dedicates his victory to his father.
11:09 AM, 6 Nov
Dinesh Gundu Rao, the Karnataka Congress chief tweets People have rejected the negative politics of BJP in Karnataka
11:05 AM, 6 Nov
Meanwhile, HD Devegowda tweets,'I thank people of Karnataka for supporting development-centric administration of JDS-INC Government.'
11:04 AM, 6 Nov
Siddaramaiah thanks people of Ballary. He says the result is curse of Ballary people for Janardhan Reddy's inhuman talks and deeds, referring to his remark on Siddaramaiah's son's death. He also said that the people of Bellary have moved from dark to light on this auspicious day of Naraka Chaturdashi (Diwali)
11:03 AM, 6 Nov
INC's AS Nyamagouda leads by 32933 votes in Jamkhandi. JDS's Anitha Kumaraswamy leads by 65990 votes in Ramanagaram,BJP's BY Raghavendra leads by 32563 votes in Shimoga, INC's VS Ugrappa leads by 151060 votes in Bellary&JDS LR Shivaramegowda leads by 76952 votes in Mandya, the ANI reported.
10:47 AM, 6 Nov
VS Ugrappa of Congress wins by over 4 lakh votes in Bellary Lok Sabha seat in Karnataka bypoll. BJP never expected this, say local workers.
10:42 AM, 6 Nov
BJP's B Y Raghavendra, the son of former chief minister BS Yeddyurappa, is leading ahead of JD(S)' Madhu Bangarappa by 42,864 votes in Shivamogga.
10:35 AM, 6 Nov
V S Ugrappa of the Congress continues to maintain a huge lead over the BJP’s J Shantha. He is currently leading by around 1,51,060 votes.
10:29 AM, 6 Nov
L Shivarame Gowda of the JD(S) wins the Mandya LS seat against the BJP’s Dr Siddaramaiah
10:27 AM, 6 Nov
The Congress has won the Jamakhandi seat. Anand Nyamagouda of the Congress defeated the BJP’s Srikant Kulkarni
10:26 AM, 6 Nov
Anita Kumaraswamy has won the by-elections in Ramanagara.
10:20 AM, 6 Nov
L Chandrashekhar had quit the BJP just two days ahead of the Ramanagara by-poll and re-joined the Congress. However he has polled 7,627. Would be interesting to find out who voted for him.
10:11 AM, 6 Nov
V S Ugrappa has taken a handsome lead over the BJP’s J Shantha. The Congress candidate is leading by over 1 lakh votes.
9:59 AM, 6 Nov
The Congresss-JD(S) continues to maintain a steady lead over the BJP. The alliance is leading in Ballari, Ramanagara, Jamakhandi and Mandya. The BJP is ahead in Shivamogga.

For Daily Alerts
Best Deals and Discounts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X