• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Karnataka by-election 2019 Updates: Voting ends, 60% voter turnout till 5.24 pm

By Anuj Cariappa

Bengaluru, Dec 05: Polling in all the 15 assembly segments in Karnataka concluded. The total number of voters turnout recorded 60 per cent, that is 37.78 lakh electors till 5.24 pm on Thursday. The maximum turnout recorded was 79.8 per cent in Chikkaballapura, and the minimum was 37.5 per cent in K R Puram in Bengaluru. Well, the counting and results will be declared on December 9. This result will reportedly decide B S Yediyurappa-led BJP governmen's fate in Karnataka, whether it will reign or fail to make government in the state.

The by-election is particularly crucial to Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa for the survival of his four months old government. The BJP needs to win 6 seats to retain power.

Karnataka by-election 2019 LIVE: Crucial polling in 15 assembly seats to begin today

Stay tuned for all the updates LIVE:

Newest First Oldest First
6:42 PM, 5 Dec
Karnataka Bharatiya Janata Party writes to Election Commission to initiate action against Jevargi Congress MLA Ajay Singh alleging he was campaigning in Shivajinagar constituency today.
6:21 PM, 5 Dec
Voting in all 15 Karnataka assembly constituencies concludes.
5:59 PM, 5 Dec
Shivalinge Shivacharya cast his vote in Rattehalli, Haveri. He had earlier withdrawn his candidacy as a JD(S) candidate from Hirekerur.
5:41 PM, 5 Dec
Several voters in Yeshwanthpur alleged that their names were deleted from the voters' list. This triggered clash between voters and EC officials.
5:38 PM, 5 Dec
In Gokak, Arabhavi BJP MLA Balachandra Jarkiholi cast his vote.
5:22 PM, 5 Dec
Chaos observed near a polling booth between Independent candidate Sharath Bachegowda and BJP candidate MTB Nagaraj supporters.
5:18 PM, 5 Dec
Ahead of wedding a groom cast his vote at a polling booth in KR Pete.
4:19 PM, 5 Dec
Congress and BJP workers clash in KR Puram. Congress accuses BJP of threatening party workers from entering poll booth.
3:44 PM, 5 Dec
Latest voter turnout figures
3:10 PM, 5 Dec
Bengaluru constituencies record over 20% voter turnout till 1 pm.
3:08 PM, 5 Dec
BBMP school students help senior citizens vote
2:05 PM, 5 Dec
Voter turnout in Hunsur till 1 pm is 38.02%
2:05 PM, 5 Dec
Voter turnout in KR Pete till 1 pm is 39.47%
2:05 PM, 5 Dec
Voter turnout in Hoskote till 1 pm is 33.24%
2:05 PM, 5 Dec
Voter turnout in Shivajinagar till 1 pm is 22.12%
2:05 PM, 5 Dec
Voter turnout in Mahalakshmi Layout till 1 pm is 22.71%
2:04 PM, 5 Dec
Voter turnout in KR Puram till 1 pm is 22.23%
2:04 PM, 5 Dec
Voter turnout in Chikkaballapur till 1 pm is 39.03%
2:04 PM, 5 Dec
Voter turnout in Vijayanagara till 1 pm is 34.95%
2:03 PM, 5 Dec
Voter turnout in Ranebennur till 1 pm is 36.09%
2:03 PM, 5 Dec
Voter turnout in Hirekerur till 1 pm is 38.63%
2:03 PM, 5 Dec
Voter turnout in Yellapur till 1 pm is 41.72%
2:02 PM, 5 Dec
Voter turnout in Gokak till 1 pm is 37.37%
2:02 PM, 5 Dec
Voter turnout in Kagwad till 1 pm is 37.72%
2:02 PM, 5 Dec
Voter turnout in Athani till 1 pm is 40.89%
1:42 PM, 5 Dec
Voters boycott elections in Ranebennur. Voters claim BJP cheated minorities.
1:17 PM, 5 Dec
HD Kote Congress MLA Anil Chikkamadu stopped outside a polling booth in Doodaramenahalli in Hunsur constituency accuses BJP of misusing govt machinery.
1:16 PM, 5 Dec
Missing name list: Voters in Mahalakshmi Layout question poll officials over missing name.
12:48 PM, 5 Dec
Brisk voting reported in CM Yediyurappa's native Bookanakere in KR Pete.
12:39 PM, 5 Dec
18.24 per cent voting recorded till 12 pm as per Election Commission's Voter Turnout app.

Currently, the BJP enjoys a slim majority in the assembly and has the support of 106 MLAs in the 224 members assembly, while the Congress-JDS Opposition has the support of 101 MLAs.

The ruling BJP needs to win at least seven seats to reach the majority mark of 111 and to retain power.

The by-elections were necessitated after 17 MLAs resigned in July leading to the fall of the previous Congress-JDS coalition government in the state.

With elections yet to be announced in 2 constituencies - Maski and RR Nagar - BJP needs to win six more seats to attain the simple majority of 112. (223 in total with 2 seats vacant).

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X