• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Jharkhand polls 2019 Updates: 1st phase election total voters turnout is 62.87%

By Anuj Cariappa
Google Oneindia News

Ranchi, Nov 29: As the first of the five-phase polling began in 13 assembly constituencies in Jharkhand on Saturday, the naxals blew up a bridge in Bishnupur in Gumla district. However, no injuries have been reported so far. Polling for Phase 1 ended in the evening and the total voters turnout for the first phase of elections was 62.87% today.

In all 37,83,055 voters, including 18,01,356 women and five third gender voters will cast their ballot today.

Jharkhand polls 2019 LIVE: Polling begins, fates of 189 to be decided

Stay tuned for all the updates LIVE:

Newest First Oldest First
4:32 PM, 30 Nov
Total voters turnout for the first phase of elections is 62.87%.
3:38 PM, 30 Nov
Polling for Phase 1 ends
3:06 PM, 30 Nov
The voting commenced at 7 am and will end at 3 pm, Election Commission (EC) officials told.
3:06 PM, 30 Nov
Around 46.83 per cent votes were cast till 1 pm on Saturday in the first phase of Jharkhand assembly elections in 13 constituencies, amid sporadic incidents of violence in some districts, officials said.
2:22 PM, 30 Nov
Clashes between BJP and Congress supporters have been reported from Kosiyara village of Chainpur. Congress accused BJP candidate Alok Chaurasia and his supporters of looting the booths.
1:52 PM, 30 Nov
Polling percentage at 48.83% in the first phase of Jharkhand Assembly Polls till 1 pm.
1:38 PM, 30 Nov
Visuals from Lohardaga polling station
1:33 PM, 30 Nov
Congress candidate KN Tripathi brandishes a gun during clash between supporters of BJP candidate Alok Chaurasia & Tripathi's supporters.
1:15 PM, 30 Nov
Queues of voters outside a polling booth in naxal affected area of Kanhachatti in Chatra district.
12:55 PM, 30 Nov
The Bhawanathpur constituency has the maximum of 28 contestants, while Chatra has the lowest with nine.​
12:52 PM, 30 Nov
The agitators broke the window panes of a police vehicle after a candidate allegedly tried to enter the polling booth, he said, adding, the situation was quickly brought under control.
12:52 PM, 30 Nov
Palamau Deputy Commissioner-cum-Returning Officer Shantanu Agrahari said a minor clash broke out between two groups near a polling station at Kosiyara in Daltonganj assembly constituency during the first phase of voting on Saturday, reports PTI.
12:42 PM, 30 Nov
BJP National Working President JP Nadda appeals the locals to vote. Election is underway to 13 constituency in the first phase of polls in Jharkhand.
12:02 PM, 30 Nov
Additional Director General of Police Murari Lal Meena said peaceful polling is underway in all the 13 constituencies.
12:01 PM, 30 Nov
People cast their votes at a polling booth in Chatra
11:48 AM, 30 Nov
"Phase 1 of the Jharkhand elections is in progress. I urge those whose constituencies go to the polls today to vote in large numbers and enrich the festival of democracy," tweeted PM Modi.
11:47 AM, 30 Nov
Around 21.4 % voting percentage was recorded across 13 constituencies in Jharkhand.
11:42 AM, 30 Nov
At least 18 political leaders with significant clout in their respective constituencies have switched parties after being denied Assembly poll tickets in Jharkhand - a record in the state's 19-year history.
11:41 AM, 30 Nov
PM Narendra Modi in a tweet appealed the voters to come out and vote in large numbers.
11:10 AM, 30 Nov
Long queues of women voters seen at a polling station at Garu in Manika assembly constituency.
10:44 AM, 30 Nov
At Ambawtikar and Ashram school booths in Latehar assembly seat, voting started late after the EVM developed technical snag.
10:36 AM, 30 Nov
Brisk voting is underway at several polling stations in Jharkhand.
10:08 AM, 30 Nov
11.2% votes had been cast till 9 am in 13 assembly seats during the first phase of election in Jharkhand, according to the Election Commission.
9:48 AM, 30 Nov
This moment is very valuable, says CM Raghubar Das.
9:39 AM, 30 Nov
Garhwa has recorded 11 per cent voting, Bhawanathpur 10 per cent till 9 am.
9:37 AM, 30 Nov
Vishrampur has recorded 9.5 per cent voting, Chhatarpur 10.08 per cent Hussainabad and 9.07 per cent till 9 am.
9:33 AM, 30 Nov
Lohardaga recorded 11.68 per cent voting, Daltonganj 10.07 per cent and Panki 9.02 per cent till 9 am.
9:21 AM, 30 Nov
The voter turnout in Jharkhand was 7.12 per as recorded at 9 am on Saturday.
9:20 AM, 30 Nov
Deputy commissioner Shashi Ranjan says voting not affected.
9:19 AM, 30 Nov
Naxals blow up a bridge in Bishnupur in Gumla district. No injuries reported.

Key candidates in fray in Phase 1

Prominent candidates in the fray are Jharkhand Health Minister Ramchandra Chandravanshi, Jharkhand PCC president and ex-IPS officer Rameshwar Oraon, and AJSU's Radhakrishna Kishore.

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X