• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Jharkhand by-election results 2020: Basant Soren wins from Jharkhand's Dumka

Google Oneindia News

Ranchi, Nov 10: The ruling Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) and Congress on Tuesday retained both Dumka and Bermo Assembly seats for which bypolls were held.

Basant Soren

JMM candidate Basant Soren won the Dumka seat, defeating BJP candidate and former Minister Louis Marandi by over 6,000 votes. Basant Soren secured 79,964 votes and Louis Marandi got 73,524 votes.

In the Bermo Assembly constituency, BJP candidate Yogeshwar Mahto "Batul" was leading over his nearest rival Kumar Jaimangal (Anup Singh) of the Indian National Congress by a 455 votes.

Gujarat by-elections 2020: BJP leads in 7 of 8 seatsGujarat by-elections 2020: BJP leads in 7 of 8 seats

By-election to the Dumka seat was necessitated as Chief Minister Heman Soren vacated the seat and retained the Barhait constituency.

By-election to the Berma seat was necessitated due to the death of sitting MLA Rajendra Singh.

    Bihar Poll Results: Counting still underway, who will sit on Bihar's throne|Oneindia News

    For Daily Alerts
    Get Instant News Updates
    Notification Settings X
    Time Settings
    Clear Notification X
    Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
    Settings X