• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

In Delhi who were the 2 AAP MLAs who cross voted in favour of Kovind

By Vicky

Amidst all the talk of cross-voting in the Presidential elections, two Aam Admi Party MLAs too appeared to have resorted to the same.

As per the data shared by the returning officer it appears as though 2 AAP legislators cross voted.

In Delhi who were the 2 AAP MLAs who cross voted in favour of Kovind

It may be recalled that sacked Delhi minister Kapil Mishra had said that his vote went to the one all set to become the next President of India.

The data also shows that although a total of 67 lawmakers had cast their vote, six were declared invalid. Two AAP MLAs did not vote. When a voter fails to mark the first reference, or marks the preference in a fashion other than the one prescribed by the Election Commission, the vote is considered as invalid.

    Ram Nath Kovind: India rejoices over NDA candidate's victory, Watch Video | Oneindia News

    Read | How cross voting by 116 legislators helped President-elect Ram Nath Kovind

    The 70-member Delhi Assembly currently has 69 MLAs, of which, 65 belong to the ruling AAP and four to the BJP.

    Among the votes deemed valid, 55 went in favour of joint Opposition candidate Meira Kumar, whom the AAP supported, while six votes went in favour of the President elect Ramnath Kovind. One seat is lying vacant since March when AAP legislator Ved Prakash had quit membership to join the BJP.

    OneIndia News

    For Daily Alerts
    Get Instant News Updates
    Notification Settings X
    Time Settings
    Clear Notification X
    Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
    Settings X