• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

How parties from Telangana, AP voted in the RS poll


New Delhi, Aug 10: The NDA's Harivansh Narayan Singh won the Rajya Sabha deputy chairman election on Thursday. He polled 125 votes as against the 105 polled by B K Hariprasad.

Harivansh Narayan Singh

All eyes were on the YSR Congress Party to see which way the party would vote. While the TRS voted in favour of the NDA, the TDP backed Hariprasad. The YSRCP however kept everyone guessing till the last minute.

The party had said before the elections, that it would vote against the NDA. However at the last minute the party took a u-turn and abstained from voting.

YSRC MP Vijaya Sai Reddy declared that they are neither supporting the NDA candidate nor the Congress candidate as the BJP and the Congress have both cheated the people of Andhra Pradesh.

He explained that they were of the belief that the opposition would field a non-Congress candidate. However when it became clear that the opposition was fielding a non-Congress candidate, they decided to give it a miss.

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X