• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

    Holiday list 2019 for central government employees

    By Simran Kashyap

    Bengaluru, Dec 20: Here is the Central Government Holiday list 2019. The Central government employees in New Delhi and outside the capital city shall observe the following list of holidays.

    Holiday list 2019 for central government employees

    Also Read | Holiday list 2018 for central government employees

    Here we are providing you with the full list, which also includes the restricted holiday list as well.

    Central Government Holiday List 2019:

    Sl. No. Holiday Date Day
    1 Republic Day 26-Jan Saturday
    2 Mahavir Jayanti 17-Apr Wednesday
    3 Good Friday 19-Apr Friday
    4 Buddha Purnima 18-May Saturday
    5 Idu'l Fitr 05-Jun Wednesday
    6 Id-ul-Zuha 12-Aug Monday
    7 Independence Day 15-Aug Thursday
    8 Muharram 10-Sep Tuesday
    9 Gandhi Jayanti 02-Oct Wednesday
    10 Dussehra 08-Oct Tuesday
    11 Diwali 27-Oct Sunday
    12 Milad-un-Nabi 10-Nov Sunday
    13 Guru Nanak's Jayanti 12-Nov Tuesday
    14 Christmas Day 25-Dec Wednesday

    In addition to the 14 holidays, 3 more can be compulsorily selected from the list below in consultation with the coordination committee of the respective states.

    • Additional day for Dussehra
    • Holi
    • Janmashtami
    • Maha Shivratri
    • Ganesh Chaturthi/Vinayak Chaturthi
    • Makar Sankranti
    • Rath Yatra
    • Onam
    • Pongal
    • Sri Panchami/Basant Panchami
    • Vishu/ Bhai Bihu, Mashadi, Ugadi, Chaitra, Sukladi, Cheti Chand, Chhath Pooja, Karva Chauth, Vaisakhadi, Navratra, Nauraj.

    Central Government Holiday List 2019 in Delhi

    Sl. No Holiday Date Day
    1 Republic Day 26-Jan Saturday
    2 Maha Shivaratri 04-Mar Monday
    3 Holi 21-Mar Thursday
    4 Mahavir Jayanti 17-Apr Wednesday
    5 Good Friday 19-Apr Friday
    6 Buddha Purnima 18-May Saturday
    7 Idu'l Fitr 05-Jun Wednesday
    8 Id-ul-Zuha 12-Aug Monday
    9 Independence Day 15-Aug Thursday
    10 Janmashtami 24-Aug Saturday
    11 Muharram 10-Sep Tuesday
    12 Gandhi Jayanti 10-Oct Wednesday
    13 Dussehra 08-Oct Tuesday
    14 Diwali 27-Oct Sunday
    15 Milad-un-Nabi 10-Nov Sunday
    16 Guru Nanak's Jayanti 12-Nov Tuesday
    17 Christmas Day 25-Dec Wednesday

    Also Read | Karnataka holiday list 2019

    Restricted Holiday List 2019

    Sl. No Holiday Date Day
    1 New Year's Day 1st January Tuesday
    2 Lohri 13th January Sunday
    3 Makar Sankranti 14th January Monday
    4 Pongal 15th January Tuesday
    5 Basant Panchami / Sri Panchami 10th February Sunday
    6 Guru Ravidas's Birthday 19th February Tuesday
    7 Shivaji Jayanti 19th February Tuesday
    8 Swami Dayananda Sarswati Jayanti 1st March Thursday
    9 Holika Dahan 20th March Wednesday
    10 Dolyatra 21st March Thursday
    11 Hazarat Ali' Birthday 21st March Thursday
    12 Chaitra Sukladi / Gudi Padava / Ugadi / Cheti Chand 6th April Saturday
    13 Ram Navami 13th April Saturday
    14 Vaisakhi / Vishu / Mesadi 14th April Sunday
    15 Vaisakhadi (Bengal) / Bahag Bihu (Assam) 15th April Monday
    16 Easter Sunday 21st April Sunday
    17 Guru Rabindranath's Birthday 9th May Thursday
    18 Jamat-Ul-Vida 31st May Friday
    19 Rath Yatra 4th July Thursday
    20 Raksha Bandhan 15th August Thursday
    21 Parsi New Year's Day / Nauraj 17th August Saturday
    22 Vinayaka Chaturthi / Ganesh Chaturthi 2nd September Monday
    23 Onam or Thiru Onam Day 11th September Wednesday
    24 Dussehra (Maha Saptami) (Additional) 5th October Saturday
    25 Dussehra (Maha Ashtami) (Additional) 6th October Sunday
    26 Dussehra (Maha Navmi) 7th October Monday
    27 Maharishi Valmiki's Birthday 13th October Sunday
    28 Karaka Chaturthi (Karva Chouth) 17th October Thursday
    29 Naraka Chaturdasi 27th October Sunday
    30 Govardhan Puja 28th October Monday
    31 Bhai Duj 29th October Tuesday
    32 Pratihar Sashthi or Surya Sashthi (Chhat Puja) 2nd November Saturday
    33 Guru Teg Bahadur's Martyrdom Day 24th November Sunday
    34 Christmas Eve 24th December Tuesday

    Points to note:

    • No compensatory off if the holiday falls on Saturday or Sunday
    • A Central Government employee can avail 2 additional holidays from restricted holiday list
    • Holidays like Idu'l Fitr, Idu'l Zuha, Id-e-Milad and Muharram depend on sighting of the moon and hence will be declared by the DoPT for the Delhi and respective welfare coordination committees of the respective states.

    For Daily Alerts

    For Breaking News from Oneindia
    Get instant news updates throughout the day.

    Notification Settings X
    Time Settings
    Clear Notification X
    Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
    Settings X
    We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more