• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Holi 2021 celebrations banned: List of states, UTs that don't allow public gathering citing Covid-19 cases


New Delhi, Mar 26: Also known as the 'festival of colours', Holi 2021 is celebrated across India. This two-day festival consists of Chhoti Holi or Holika Dahan on March 28 and Dhulandi or Rangwali Holi on March 29.

Holi 2021: List of states/UTs that banned public celebrations in view of Covid-19

Holi is celebrated during the Phalguna month, which typically falls in the month of March. It begins on the Purnima Tithi or last full moon day of the month, and on this evening, Holika Dahan is celebrated.

However, this year in view of the alarming COVID-19 situation, several states and union territories have announced a ban on public celebrations of Holi festival 2021.

Listed below are states, UTs that have imposed COVID-19 curbs or banned public Holi celebrations:

In Karnataka, public gatherings at parks, markets, religious places, etc., for festivals such as Holi, Shab-e-Barat, and Good Friday have been banned. Action will be taken against those found violating the COVID-19 curbs.

To avoid COVID-19 spread due to Holi celebrations 2021, the Bihar government has banned 'Holi-Milan' gatherings.

The Haryana government has banned public celebrations of Holi festival 2021 to avoid COVID-19 spread. Home and Health Minister Anil Vij said: "The Haryana government has banned public celebrations of Holi in view of (rise in number of cases of) corona...".

Madhya Pradesh:
Several cities in Madhya Pradesh, including Indore and Bhopal are currently under lockdown. The Chief Minister has advised people to celebrate Holi at home.

All Holi-related celebrations have been cancelled and clubs and restaurants have been directed to not organise any programme. Holi celebration at home has been allowed.

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X