• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

History repeats: No CM from Shivamogga has completed his term


There have been four Chief Ministers that Shivamogga has produced. Ironically none of them have completed their term. This has been a trend with CM candidates from Shivamogga, the home town of B S Yeddyurappa since 1956.

This year too the trend continued and B S Yeddyurappa for the third time was unable to complete his term. Let us take a look at the CM candidates that Shivamogga has produced.

History repeats: No CM from Shivamogga has completed his term

It all began with Kadidal Manjappa. He was a chief minister for 75 days. He served in officer between August 19 1956 to October 31 1956. After him, S Nijalingappa took over as chief minister of Karnataka.

The next CM from Shivamogga was S Bangarappa. He stayed in office for 756 days. He served as the CM between October 17 1990 to November 19 1992. He was declared the CM after Rajiv Gandhi removed Veerendra Patil. However after the death of Rajiv Gandhi, the then Congress chief, Sitaram Kesari forced him out of office following which Bangarappa floated his own party, the Karnataka Congress Party.

J H Patel was the next CM from Shivamogga who did not have a full term. He remained in office for 1,225 days between May 31 1996 to October 17 1999. He became the CM when Deve Gowda quit as CM to become the Prime Minister. Patel was then put in charge of the state.

The next CM from Shivamogga was B S Yeddyurappa. His first tenure between November 12 2007 to November 19 2007 lasted 7 days. His next tenure between May 30 2008 and November 19 2011 lasted 1,269 days. The latest was when he took over as CM on May 17 2018 and resigned on May 19 2018. This was his shortest tenure which lasted just 2 days.

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X