• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Gujarat Panchayat Election Results 2021: Gujarat firmly with BJP's development agenda, says PM Modi


Ahmedabad, Mar 02: Prime Minister Narendra Modi thanked the people of Gujarat for their "unwavering faith and affection towards BJP".

Prime Minister Narendra Modi

"Results of the Nagar Palika, Taluka Panchayat and District Panchayat polls across Gujarat give a crystal clear message- Gujarat is firmly with the BJP's agenda of development and good governance. I bow to the people of Gujarat for the unwavering faith and affection towards BJP," PM Modi said.

With the BJP emerging stronger in rural and semi-urban areas, Home Minister Amit Shah tweeted that the people in rural parts of Gujarat and farmers have made the BJP victorious and put a seal of trust on the welfare policies of the government.

He congratulated Chief Minister Vijay Rupani, Deputy Chief Minister Nitin Patel and state BJP President C R Paatil as well as party workers for the "grand victory".

The ruling BJP recorded a massive victory in the local body polls in Gujarat on Tuesday by winning clear majority in all 31 district panchayats as well as in 196 out of 231 taluka panchayats and 74 out of 81 municipalities.

The Congress, the main opposition party in the state, won a clear majority in only one municipality and 18 taluka panchayats, while AIMIM and AAP also made their presence felt.

The BJP's success followed its victory in all six municipal corporations where polls were held in the first phase of local elections on February 21.

Gujarat Panchayat Election Results 2021: State Cong chief, opposition leader quitGujarat Panchayat Election Results 2021: State Cong chief, opposition leader quit

In the second phase where polling was held for district and taluka panchayats as well as municipalities on February 28, the BJP again left the Congress far behind by winning 6,236 out of 8,470 seats for which results were declared.

The position was not yet clear on four remaining seats. The Congress could win 1,805 seats, while the new entrants Aam Aadmi Paty (AAP) and All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) won 42 and 17 seats, respectively.

Asaduddin Owaisi's AIMIM won nine seats in Modasa municipality in Aravalli district, one in Bharuch, and seven in Godhra in Panchmahal. The AAP won 31 seats in taluka panchayat, two in district panchayat and nine in municipality bodies.

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X