• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Lok Sabha polls to be held in 9 phases, voting to begin on April 7


EC announces Lok Sabha poll dates
New Delhi, Mar 5: Chief election Commissioner VS Sampath will announce the Lok Sabha election dates at a press conference on Wednesday morning in New Delhi.

The entire voting will take place in 9 poll days, covering 543 parliamentary constituencies, announced the CEC.

On the first poll day, 7 April 2014, 2 states and 6 constituencies will be covered.

On second day, 9 April, 5 states and 7 constituencies will be covered.

The third poll day, 10 April, will cover 14 states, 92 constituencies.

The fourth day, 12 April, will see 5 constituencies in three states going to the polls. The assembly elections in Sikkim will also be held on the same day.

On the fifth poll day, 17 April, 13 states and all the UTs (total 22 constituencies) will be covered.

The sixth day, 24 April, will cover 117 constituencies in 12 states.

The seventh poll day, 30 April, will cover 9 states (89 constituencies).

On the eighth poll day, 7 May, 7 states (64 constituencies in all) will be covered.

The 9th and last poll day, 12 May, 3 states (41 constituencies) will be covered.

The vote counting will take place on 16 May, announced CEC. ( See the detailed schedule here)

The term of current Lok Sabha ends on May 31, 2014. The 2009 polls were held in five phases from April 16 to May 13.

Poll Day States No.of PCs
07 Apr 2014 2 6
09 Apr 2014 5 7
10 Apr 2014 14 92
12 Apr 2014 3 5
17 Apr 2014 13 122
24 Apr 2014 12 117
30 Apr 2014 9 89
07 May 2014 7 64
12 May 2014 3 41
Andhra Pradesh April 30, May 7 Arunchal Pradesh April 9
Assam April 7, 12, 24 Bihar April 10, 17, 24, 30, May 7, 12
Goa April 12 Gujarat April 30
Haryana April 10 Himachal Pradesh May 7
Jammu & Kashmir April 10, 17, 24, 30, May 7 Karnataka April 17
Kerala April 10 Madhya Pradesh April 10, 17, 24
Maharashtra April 10, 17, 24 Manipur April 9, 17
Meghalaya April 9 Mizoram April 9
Nagaland April 9 Odisha April 10, 17
Punjab April 30 Rajasthan April 17, 24
Sikkim April 12 Tamil Nadu April 24
Tripura April 7, 12 Uttar Pradesh April 10, 17, 24, 30, May 7, 12
West Bengal April 17, 24, 30, May 7, 12 Chhattisgarh April 10, 17, 24
Jharkhand April 10, 17, 24 Uttarakhand May 7
Andaman & Nicobar Islands April 10 Chandigarh April 10
Dadra & Nagar Haveli April 30 Daman & Diu April 30
NCT of Delhi April 10 Lakshadweep April 10
Puducherry April 24

Parties had highlighted the need for holding polls in phased manner in some states, said CEC.CEC said that the model code of conduct will come into force with immediate effect. NOTA facility will be given in 2014 general elections, he said.

On March 9, voters can get themselves enrolled in the voters list across the country. On this day, officers will verify electoral rolls and allow applications, said CEC. Special camps will be organised across the country for this purpose.

People can enroll themselves in voters list on March 9

There are nine lakh 30 thousand polling stations in the country, which is 12 per cent more than the polling stations in 2009 elections.

Apart from the LS polls, three states including Andhra Pradesh, Odisha and Sikkim will go to polls to elect new assemblies.

For the first time in parliamentary polls, a system of paper trail for electronic voting will be introduced in some constituencies on a trial basis.

An estimated 81.4 crore voters will be eligible to vote in the coming elections after 9.71 crore new voters have been added to the rolls since the last elections. Around 10% of the total electorate is new voters.

From the coming elections, candidates in a parliamentary constituency in bigger states can spend up to Rs 70 lakh ontheir campaign, up from Rs 40 lakh in 2011. In the 2009 elections, it was Rs 25 lakh.

Oneindia news

(With PTI inputs)

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more