• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts
Oneindia App Download

Double whammy: From RTI to triple talaq, how BJP floored the opposition in Rajya Sabha

Google Oneindia News

New Delhi, July 31: It was a major turn around for the BJP, which finally managed to push the triple talaq bill in the Rajya Sabha. Triple talaq is now a criminal offence.

The opposition with better numbers had hoped that it would counter the BJP. The opposition was clearly lacking in strategy and for the second time in a week, it found itself on the mat. Last week, the BJP managed to push the RTI amendment Bill.

A view of the Rajya Sabha during discussion on the triple talaq bill, in the Rajya Sabha at Parliament, in New Delhi

Despite opposing the Bills tooth and nail, the opposition did not manage to push the same to the select committee, which it had hoped it would do. For one 23 opposition members, including 4 from the Congress were absent. 6 SP, 4 BSP, 2 NCP, 2 TDP, 2, PDP, 1 DMK, 1 CMP and 1 TMC members were absent.

How Rajya Sabha voted for Triple Talaq Bill and what helped NDAHow Rajya Sabha voted for Triple Talaq Bill and what helped NDA

In addition to this, The JD(U), AIADMK and TRS staged a walk out. In all these parties have 23 members. This means 56 abstained in a house of 245 which has 5 vacant seats.

While it was clear that the BJP's floor managers were in touch with the AIADMK, JD(U) and TRS, the turning point was the 23 absentee MPs from the opposition. The Congress MPs who were absent were Ranjib Biswal, Partap Singh Bajwa, Vivek Tankha and Mukut Mithi. Sanjay Singh on the other hand resigned and the same was immediately accepted.

Praful Patel and Sharad Pawar of the NCP too were not present. The CPMs, Jharna Das Baidya and DMK member, R S Bharathi too were absent. From the BSP, the absentee MPs were Satish Chandra Mishra, Rajaram, Ashok Siddharth and Veer Singh.

Triple Talaq Bill finally clears Rajya Sabha hurdle after many abstain from votingTriple Talaq Bill finally clears Rajya Sabha hurdle after many abstain from voting

The SP MPs who were absent were Tazeen Fatma, Sanjay Seth, Beni Prasad Verma, Sukhram Yadav, Chandrapal Yadav and Surendra Singh. The SP said that three of their members had health issues. Mir Mohammad Fayaz and Nazir Ahmad Laway of the PDP too were absent.

For Daily Alerts
Best Deals and Discounts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X