• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts
Oneindia App Download

Delhi MCD Election Results 2022 Updates: AAP wins 134 seats, BJP stands second with 104

By Anuj Cariappa
Google Oneindia News

New Delhi, Dec 07: The Delhi MCD election resluts have given the Aam Admi Party the loudest cheer. AAP's emphatic victory in Delhi comes as a major blow to the BJP which was at the helm of the civic body for three consecutive terms. At the end of counting, AAP won 134 seats, BJP 104, Congress 9, and Independents 3.

Arvind Kejriwal

The MCD election 2022 was a tri-cornered fight between the AAP, the BJP and the Congress.

Delhi MCD Election Results 2022 LIVE: Catch all the UPDATES here

Newest First Oldest First
7:04 PM, 7 Dec
Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma claimed that the BJP could have devoted more attention to the contest, had it not coincided with Gujarat and Himachal Pradesh elections. He also asserted that the BJP would perform well in Gujarat, where counting of votes will be taken up on Thursday.
5:28 PM, 7 Dec
AAP Rajya Sabha MP Sanjay Singh said the barely 10-year-old party's "defeat" of the country's largest party (BJP) in their stronghold "have once again proved the AAP is a hardcore honest party."
5:20 PM, 7 Dec
The BJP's northeast Delhi MP Manoj Tiwari, in a tweet in Hindi, thanked the people of Delhi and party workers for showing faith by giving so many seats to the party for the fourth consecutive time.
5:15 PM, 7 Dec
BJP National Spokesperson Shehzad Poonawalla said even after 15 years, the party retained its vote share on the basis of its work.
5:13 PM, 7 Dec
In what turned out to be a closer-than-expected contest, the AAP ended the BJP's 15-year stint in the Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD) -- trifurcated in 2012 into north, south and east corporations and unified this year -- by winning 134 seats.
5:13 PM, 7 Dec
The BJP, which exit polls had predicted would suffer a massive defeat, put up a spirited fight to win 104 wards.
5:12 PM, 7 Dec
An elated AAP after winning the MCD polls on Wednesday vowed to improve civic amenities in the national capital while the BJP thanked voters for "recognising" its work as it took solace in securing over a hundred seats despite exit poll predicting its rout.
5:10 PM, 7 Dec
Three former women mayors of Delhi who fought on BJP tickets emerged victorious in the civic polls on Wednesday, while an ex-mayor of North Delhi lost the contest in Civil Lines ward.
5:05 PM, 7 Dec
Aam Admi Party workers celebrate their victory in Delhi MCD elections, at the party office, in Lucknow.
4:35 PM, 7 Dec
It is a big victory. This was a big task to achieve. I extend congratulations to all including Kejriwal ji: Former cricketer and AAP MP Harbhajan Singh on AAP's win in the Delhi MCD elections
4:19 PM, 7 Dec
Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) calls a meeting of its key office bearers of Delhi today evening at the BJP HQ. Later a meeting of winning councillors of Delhi MCD Polls has also been called.
3:52 PM, 7 Dec
I want the cooperation of the BJP and Congress to work for Delhi now. I appeal to the Centre &ask for PM's blessings to make Delhi better. We have to make MCD corruption-free. Today, the people of Delhi have given a message to the entire nation: Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal.
3:44 PM, 7 Dec
Thank you for giving us the responsibility of MCD, will fulfill promises like always, says Arvind Kejriwal.
3:34 PM, 7 Dec
Counting for Delhi MCD Polls concludes. AAP wins 134 seats, BJP 104, Congress 9 and Independent 3.
3:13 PM, 7 Dec
"For us, this is not just a victory, it is a big responsibility," he said.
3:13 PM, 7 Dec
"Heartfelt gratitude to the people of Delhi for trusting Aam Aadmi Party in Delhi MCD… By defeating the world's biggest and most negative party, the people of Delhi have made a hardcore honest and working @ArvindKejriwalji win," Sisodia said in a tweet in Hindi, targeting the BJP.
3:04 PM, 7 Dec
Delhi CM and AAP national convenor Arvind Kejriwal, Dy CM Manish Sisodia and Punjab CM Bhagwant Mann address the party workers as the party comfortably crosses the majority mark to win the MCD elections AAP wins 132 seats; BJP at 104 - counting underway
3:03 PM, 7 Dec
The Congress was lagging far behind, winning just seven seats. Of the 250 wards under the Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD), the AAP has won 131 seats and was ahead in three.
2:48 PM, 7 Dec
While the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has crossed the majority mark of 126, the BJP has won 99, according to the latest State Election Commission figures
2:48 PM, 7 Dec
Senior AAP leader Manish Sisodia on Wednesday thanked the people of Delhi for voting his party to victory in the MCD polls and said it was their mandate that helped it defeat the "world's biggest and most negative party".
2:00 PM, 7 Dec
AAP crosses majority mark, wins 126 seats, BJP wins 97 seats as counting continues. Congress wins 7, leads on 3 and Independent candidates win 3 and lead on 3. Counting is underway for 250 wards.
1:26 PM, 7 Dec
As the counting of votes progresses in the Municipal Corporation of Delhi polls, both Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) are claiming to win the polls but the latest trends suggest AAP securing 107 seats so far and leading in 25; while the BJP is leading on 20 wards (winning 85) so far.
12:54 PM, 7 Dec
The current trends indicate that AAP is leading in 135 seats while BJP in 102 seats.
12:41 PM, 7 Dec
BJP contested well on issues & exposed lies-corruption of AAP. They had said BJP will get 20 seats & AAP will get 230. It's a neck-to-neck fight. Polls results could be anything. Final results yet to come but BJP hopeful of majority: Delhi BJP chief
12:41 PM, 7 Dec
AAP wins 106 seats and leads on 26, BJP wins 84 seats and leads on 20 seats as counting continues. Congress wins 5, leads on 5 and Independent candidates win 1 and lead on 3. Counting is underway for 250 wards.
12:30 PM, 7 Dec
AAP wins 89 seats and leads on 47, BJP wins 69 seats and leads on 32 seats as counting continues. Congress wins 4, leads on 5 and Independent candidates win 1 and lead on 2. Counting is underway for 250 wards.
12:17 PM, 7 Dec
Arvind Kejriwal uprooted 15-yr-long Congress rule in Delhi & now the 15-yr-long (BJP)rule in MCD. It shows people of Delhi don't like politics of hatred, they vote for schools, hospitals, electricity, cleanliness & infrastructure: Punjab CM Bhagwant Mann
12:12 PM, 7 Dec
The AAP's Ankush Narang has won from the Ranjeet Nagar seat.
12:02 PM, 7 Dec
The latest results and trends show the Aam Aadmi Party has crossed the magic figure of 126 in the MCD polls
11:49 AM, 7 Dec
Sultana Abad of the AAP won the Jama Masjid ward, while the party's Sarika Chaudhary defeated Congress' Farhad Suri by a margin of 244 votes in the Daryaganj seat.

For Daily Alerts
Best Deals and Discounts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X