• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Cong wins BJP stronghold of Bellary with margin of 25,000 votes


Congress wins in Bellary
Bangalore, Aug 25: Counting of votes for the Aug 21 by-elections to the three Assembly seats in Karnataka began this morning.

Initial reports suggested that INC Candidate NY Gopalakrishna won the Bellary Rural bypoll election by 33142 votes.

Chikkodi-Sadalga, Shikaripura and Bellary Rural went to the polls after Prakash Hukkeri (Congress) and former Chief Minister B S Yeddyurappa and B Sriramulu (both BJP) vacated their seats respectively following their election to Lok Sabha.

Elaborate security arrangements have been made at the counting centres with observers supervising and overseeing the process which began at 8 am, officials said.

Twenty-two candidates are in the fray for the by-polls which are the first popular test in the state after the Lok Sabha polls. The ruling Congress is not only hoping to retain its seat but also wrest those held by BJP, which pulled out an impressive performance in the Lok Sabha polls, bagging 17 of the 28 seats against nine secured by the Congress.

It is also a prestigeous fight for Yeddyurappa as his son B Y Raghavendra is contesting from Shikaripura, his bastion from where the BJP strongman has won seven times.

JDS, led by former Prime Minister H D Deve Gowda has notfielded any candidates.


For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X