• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Citizenship (Amendment) Bill: In numbers, how the Rajya Sabha voted


New Delhi, Dec 12: The historic Citizenship (Amendment) Bill was passed in the Rajya Sabha, paving the way for it to become a law. For the Bill to be passed, it needed 112 votes. There were 223 members who were present in the House, which meant that the magic number was 112. At the end, the Bill was passed with 125 MPs voting in its favour.

Citizenship (Amendment) Bill: In numbers, how the Rajya Sabha voted

BJP sources tell OneIndia that their estimate before the voting was that they would get anything between 121 and 130 votes to get the Bill passed. The Opposition, on the other hand, would not be pleased as it had expected 110 to vote against the Bill. However, at the end only 99 voted against the Bill.

    Citizenship Amendment Bill clears Rajya Sabha hurdle, big win for BJP

    The Shiv Sena, which had done a flip-flop after voting in favour of the Bill in the Lok Sabha, staged a walkout. The Shiv Sena has three MPs in the Upper House. Apart from the BJP, the others who supported the Bill were JD(U), SAD and AIADMK. The Bill was also supported by the BJD, TDP, YSR Congress and Independents.

    Further two MPs from the NCP, one each from the Samajwadi Party and Trinamool Congress were absent.
    The opposition led by the UPA had expected at least 110 votes. The UPA had the support of 64 MPs and had expected 46 more MPs from parties such as the TMC, SP, TRS and the CPI (M) to oppose the Bill. This would have meant that it would have the backing of 110 MPs. However, the final number ended up at 99.

    Prior to the final voting, the House had also rejected a motion to send the Bill to a select committee of the House. The motion was also rejected 125-99.

    For Daily Alerts
    Get Instant News Updates
    Notification Settings X
    Time Settings
    Clear Notification X
    Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
    Settings X