• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

By-polls on four seats announced by EC

By Anuj Cariappa

Delhi, Aug 26: The Election Commission has announced by-elections to one assembly seat each in Uttar Pradesh, Tripura, Chhattisgarh and Kerala.

The bypolls for Dantewada (Chhattisgarh), Pala (Kerala), Badharghat (Tripura) and Hamirpur (Uttar Pradesh) assembly seats will be held on September 23.

By-polls on four seats announced by EC

The bypoll in Hamirpur was necessitated by the disqualification of BJP MLA Ashok Chandel. Byelections to 12 other Assembly seats in UP are also due as most of the sitting MLAs won the Lok Sabha elections this year. But the dates are yet to be announced by the poll panel.

Article 370 gone: EC gets set to undertake delimitation in J&K

The Dantewada, Pala and Badharghat bypolls were necessitated following the death of the respective sitting MLAs.

While the notification for the byelections would be issued on August 28, counting will be held on September 27, the EC said.

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X