• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Bihar elections: 53.46 per cent voter turnout in first phase, slightly lower than 2015


Patna, Oct 28: The coronavirus pandemic did not have much impact on the voter turnout in the first phase of Bihar assembly polls as an estimated 53.54 voters exercised their franchise compared to 54.75 per cent in these districts in 2015, according to provisional figures. This is the first major election being conducted amid the raging COVID-19 pandemic in the country.

    Delhi University VC suspended over 'misconduct' | Oneindia News

    Representational Image

    The 2020 poll percentage is likely to go up as the Election Commission is updating the data with more inputs from 71 constituencies spread across 16 districts.

    According to the provisional data, the highest poll percentage is recorded in Banka district at 59.57. It had recorded 56.43 per cent out in 2015 polls. Munger district has registered the least voter turnout at 47.36 per cent. It had recorded 52.24 per cent turnout in 2015.

    In the 2015 assembly polls, the turnout in the phase one was 54.94 per cent, he said. In the 2019 Lok Sabha polls, the corresponding turnout was 53.54 per cent, he said.

    A total of 71 assembly constituencies of Bihar went for polls on Wednesday in the first phase of three-phase elections amid tight security and with COVID-19 guidelines in place. The polling began at 7 am and ended at 6 pm.

    Bihar Elections 2020: BJP files complaint with EC against Rahul Gandhi's tweet asking for votes

    Of the nearly 2.15 crore electors eligible to exercise the franchise, 1.12 crore are male, 1.01 crore female and 599 are categorised as third gender, according to data provided by the Election Commission.

    In Dinana assembly constituency, a group of women expressed happiness after exercising franchise. Polling time was curtailed in the naxal-affected areas.

    Out of the 71 constituencies, 35 are in naxal-hit areas where polling was conducted in a staggered manner.

    State ministers and also candidates from different constituencies- Vijay Sinha and Krishnandan Verma- and commonwealth games gold medal winning shooter Shreyasi Singh, BJP nominee from Jamui seat, cast their vote.

    Enthusiasm of voters was seen at many a booth. In Nawada, a physically challenged voter reached booth on his tricycle to cast his vote.

    For Daily Alerts
    Get Instant News Updates
    Notification Settings X
    Time Settings
    Clear Notification X
    Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
    Settings X