• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Assembly bypoll results: BJP wins big in 5 states


It was BJP all the way in 5 out of 8 states where assembly bypolls were held. The saffron party recorded a resounding victory in Delhi, Assam, Rajasthan, Himachal Pradesh and Madhya Pradesh. The Congress humiliated the BJP by winning both assembly seats in Karnataka while the TMC retained its seat in Kanthi Dakshin of West Bengal. Despite losing, the BJP emerged a hero in Bengal by overtaking Left parties and the Congress. In Jharkhand, JMM's Simon Marandi took the lead from round one of counting.

BJP supporters

1,371 people chose NOTA in Assam

In the fight for Assam's Dhemaji seat, BJP's Ranoj Pegu won with 75,217 votes. His closest rival, the Congerss' Babul Sonowal lost by a margin of 9,285 votes. BJP retained 50.13 percent vote share of the total votes in Assam making it the clear leader. A huge number of 1,371 voters chose the NOTA option in Assam.

BJP's big win in Rajasthan

In Rajasthan's Dholpur assembly constituency, BJP yet again emerged victorious with its candidate Shobha Rani Kushavah winning by a margin of 29,605. Kushavah received a massive 61,707 votes while her closest rival, Congress' Banwari Lal Sharma managed a mere 32,102 votes. The BJP received a massive 64.16 percent vote share in the assembly constituency. 559 people chose NOTA

Congress retains both seats in Karnataka

The ruling Congress is Karnataka managed to retain both assembly constituencies. Congress' candidate Geetha Mahadevprasad won by a margin of 10,877 in Gudlupet constituency while the party's Nanjangud candidate, Kalale Keshavmurthy won by a margin of 21,334 votes.

BJP's Gundlupet candidate Niranjan Kumar managed to receive 79,383 votes while its Nanjangud candidate and former Congress man Srinivas Prasad received 64,878 losing to their Congress counterparts.

[Karnataka bypolls: Congress wins both seats, 'unexpected', says BJP]

Himachal Pradesh win for BJP

The Bharatiya Janata Party managed to win the Bhoranj seat from Himachal Pradesh. The party's candidate, Dr Anil Dhiman won with a comfortable margin of 8,290 votes. Congress' Parmila Devi received 16,144 votes with 34.46 percent of the vote share. 263 voters opted for NOTA option.

[Bypoll results: BJP wins big in Himachal Pradesh]

Mamata Banerjee wins in West Bengal

As expected, the TMC retained its seat in Kanthi Dakshin with Chandrima Bhattacharya winning by a massive margin of 42,526 votes. The BJP overtook the Left parties and the Congress to emerge as the foremost contender for the TMC. While the TMC was sure of a victory from the first round of counting, the BJP put up a fight to send across the message that it was fast becoming a force to reckon with in West Bengal. 1,241 voters chose the NOTA option.

[TMC wins Kanthi Dakshin, BJP beats left, Congress in West Bengal]

AAP loses Rajouri garden

The ruling Aam Aadmi Party was in for a rude shock as results of Rajouri Garden bypolls came out on Thursday. with the BJP emerging victorious and the Congress trailing, the AAP was dismissed to a mere third position. BJP-SAD candidate Manjinder Singh Sirsa won the seat by a margin of 14,652 votes. Harjeet Singh of the AAP received a mere 10,243 votes. Despite AAP pushing its 'clean party image', 641 people chose the NOTA option.

[BJP wins Rajouri Garden bypolls, AAP loses deposit]

Madhya Pradesh: BJP wins Bandhavgarh, Congress wins Ater

In Madhya Pradesh, the BJP won Bandhavgarh assembly seat by a massive margin of 25,476 votes. BJP's Shivnarayan Singh won the seat with 74,356 seats while Congress' Savitri Singh polled 48,880 votes. In Ater, Hemant Katare of the Congress won against Arvind Singh Badoria of the BJP.

Jharkhand bypoll : JMM wins defeating BJP

The JMM retained Littipara (ST) Assembly seat in Jharkhand by defeating BJP by 12,900 votes. The JMM candidate, Simon Marandi, polled 65,551 votes against 52,551 votes polled by BJP's Hemlal Murmu.

Kistu Soren of Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (Prajatantrik) secured the third position. Ten candidates had contested the by-poll from the seat, which fell vacant following the death of JMM MLA Anil Murmu early this year.

OneIndia News

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more