• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Assam Polls: AJP announces candidates for 18 seats, Lurinjyoti to contest from Dhulijan


Guwahati, Mar 05: The newly-formed Assam Jatiya Parishad (AJP) on Friday announced the names of 18 candidates for the first phase of assembly elections with its president Lurinjyoti Gogoi contesting from the oil town of Duliajan.

Representational Image

AJP''s general secretary Jagadish Bhuyan will contest from Sadiya, while its alliance partner Raijor Dal is still holding discussions on nominations and may announce its list on Saturday.

Addressing a press conference, Gogoi and Bhuyan said the list of candidates for the remaining phases will be announced later.

AJP, which was formed by AASU and Asom Jatiyatabadi Yuba Chatra Parishad (AJYCP) following the anti-CAA protests, fielded Raju Phukan from Sarupathar, Chittaranjan Basumatary from Dhemaji, Pawan Saikia from Khumtai, Shatrughan Sasoni from Dhekiajuli and Ajay Tanti from Rangapara.

Four prominent personalities made 'icons' of Assam pollsFour prominent personalities made 'icons' of Assam polls

In central Assam, the party nominated Anjar Hussain from Dhing and Arup Kumar Saikia from Batadroba.

AJP announced the names of Anand Chandra Das from Dergaon, Ribulya Gogoi from Nazira, Dipen Tanti from Thowra, Achyut Saikia from Bihpuria, Ajit Buragohain from Dibrugarh, Rajiv Kumar Hazarika from Mariani, Shamsher Singh from Tinsukia, Satyajit Regon from Dhakuakhana and Sanjay Kumar Deb from Margherita.

Polls in the state will be held in three phases, starting with elections to 47 constituencies spread across eleven districts of Upper Assam, North Bank and parts of Central Assam on March 27.

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X