• search
For Chandigarh Updates
Allow Notification  

As Chandigarh slips out of wife’s hand, Navjot Singh Sidhu continues to sulk


New Delhi, Apr 03: Clearing the air over who would contest from the Chandigarh Lok Sabha seat in Punjab, the Congress has fielded former railway minister, Pawan Kumar Bansal.

The party has decided to field Gurjit Singh Aujla from Amritsar, Sunil Jakhar from Gurdaspur, Ravneet Singh Bittu from Ludhiana and Choudhary Santokh Singh from Jalandhar.

 As Chandigarh slips out of wife’s hand, Navjot Singh Sidhu continues to sulk

The candidature of Punjab Chief Minister, Amarinder Singh's wife Preneet Kaur has been finalised from Patiala. Raj Kumar Chhabewal would contest from the Hoshiarpur reserved seat.

Pakistan sympathisers can contact Sidhu for visas: Giriraj Singh

The Chandigarh seat was in fact a hotly contested one among the Congress candidates. Navjot Kaur, wife of Navjot Singh Sidhu was an aspirant for this seat. Former minister Manish Tewari too had his eye on this seat. However Bansal was the high command's favourite and he ended up bagging Chandigarh.

There were reports that Sidhu was upset that his wife was denied this seat. NDTV reported that Sidhu had expressed his displeasure and not turned up for work for nearly 20 days. Now with the seat being denied to his wife, he has even more reason to be upset.

There were also reports that Navjot Kaur may be allotted the Amritsar seat. However as per the Congress list, Gurjit Singh Aujla would be contesting from Amritsar.

Chandigarh Fact Check
Candidate's Name Party Result Vote Vote Share Margin
Kher Kirron Anupam BJP Winner 1,91,362 42% 69,642
Pawan Kumar Bansal INC Runner Up 1,21,720 27% 0
Pawan Kumar Bansal INC Winner 1,61,042 47% 58,967
Satya Pal Jain BJP Runner Up 1,02,075 30% 0
Pawan Kumar Bansal INC Winner 1,39,880 52% 45,248
Satya Pal Jain BJP Runner Up 94,632 35% 0
Pawan Kumar Bansal INC Winner 1,32,924 47% 5,449
Krishan Lal Sharma BJP Runner Up 1,27,475 45% 0
Satya Pal Jain BJP Winner 1,19,787 42% 10,366
Pawan Kumar Bansal INC Runner Up 1,09,421 39% 0
Satya Pal Jain BJP Winner 1,01,137 39% 23,969
Pawan Kumar Bansal INC Runner Up 77,168 30% 0
Pawan Kumar Bansal INC Winner 76,628 36% 15,095
Satya Pal Jain BJP Runner Up 61,533 29% 0
Harmohan Dhawan JD Winner 91,212 42% 3,974
Jagan Nath Kaushal INC Runner Up 87,238 40% 0
Jagan Nath Kaushal INC Winner 1,03,090 66% 66,300
Harmohan Dhawan JNP Runner Up 36,790 24% 0
Jagan Nath Kasuhal INC(I) Winner 61,624 50% 33,319
Ram Swrup IND Runner Up 28,305 23% 0
Krishna Kant BLD Winner 70,808 66% 40,426
Sat Pal INC Runner Up 30,382 28% 0
Amar Nath Vidyalankar INC Winner 48,335 67% 31,481
Shri Chand Goyal BJS Runner Up 16,854 23% 0
C. Goyal BJS Winner 23,939 49% 12,616
A. Nath INC Runner Up 11,323 23% 0

For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more