• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

All former MPs asked to vacate govt bungalows in 7 days; power and water to be stopped

By Shreya

New Delhi, Aug 19: All former MPs have asked to vacate their government accommodations mostly the heritage bungalows in the posh Lutyen's zone, over two months after the dissolution of the 16th Lok Sabha.

Representational Image

There are reportedly over 200 such MPs who have to vacate their bungalows.

"All former MPs have been given seven days to vacate the Govt accommodations. Officers asked to stop power and water supply to these accommodations within three days," CR Patil, Chairman, Housing Committee, was quoted as saying by ANI.

In a series of tweets, Prime Minister Narendra Modi also highlighted the problem.

According to the rules, former MPs have to vacate their respective bungalows within one month of dissolution of the previous Lok Sabha.

President Ram Nath Kovind had on May 25 dissolved the 16th Lok Sabha with immediate effect on the recommendation of the Union Cabinet after the Modi government was formed for a second term.

"More than 200 former Lok Sabha MPs have still not vacated their official bungalows, which had been allotted to them in 2014," a source told PTI.

Manmohan Singh elected unopposed to Rajya Sabha from Rajasthan

The Reports said as these former MPs have not vacated their bungalows located in Lutyens' Delhi, newly-elected MPs, who won in the Lok Sabha election, have been staying at temporary accommodation.

"Newly-elected MPs have been provided temporary accommodation at Western Court and several guest houses till the time they are allotted a full-time residence in Lutyens' Delhi," the report also said.

PM inaugurates dynamic facade lighting of Parliament House Estate

This has been done to reduce the cost of accommodation for MPs. Earlier, newly-elected MPs used to stay in five-star hotels till they were allotted a full-time official bungalow.

The 17th Lok Sabha has more than 260 MPs who have been elected for the first time to the Lower House, including cricketer-turned-politician Gautam Gambhir, Union ministers Ravi Shankar Prasad and Smriti Irani, Sufi singer Hans Raj Hans and Bengali actresses Mimi Chakraborty and Nusrat Jahan Ruhi.

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more