• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

12 Manipur Congress legislators resign from party posts


Imphal, May 30: Twelve Congress legislators in Manipur have resigned from state party posts, triggering speculation about the possibility of their crossing over to the ruling BJP, but a senior legislator among them said today that they had no intention of joining any other party.

The resignation of the legislators from the Pradesh Congress Committee (PCC) came on Wednesday after the party lost both the Lok Sabha seats in the north-eastern state.

12 Manipur Congress legislators resign from party posts

While the Inner Manipur seat was won by Rajkumar Ranjan Singh of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Lorho S Pfoze of the Naga People's Front (NPF) got elected from the Outer Manipur constituency.

Yashwant Sinha backs Rahul Gandhi, has a message for Congress

The BJP heads a coalition government in the state led by Chief Minister N Biren Singh.

The Congress had 29 legislators in the state after the 2017 Assembly polls, but eight of its legislators had defected to the BJP last year, taking the BJP's tally from 21 to 29 in the 60-member House.

At present, the BJP also has the support of one legislator each of the LJP and the AITC, besides that of an Independent member and four National People's Party (NPP) legislators.

In 2017, the BJP was able to form the government in the state with the support of the NPF, the NPP and others.

Kh Joykishan Singh, who submitted his resignation from the post of MPCC vice-president, said all the 12 legislators are in solidarity with the Congress. "Our resignation from the party posts is to enable us to work at the grassroots level in our Assembly constituencies to restore the confidence of the people in the Congress," he said.

As Rahul stays firm on stepping down, don't go cries grow louder

Gaikhangam said the legislators would now focus on strengthening the party organisation in the state.

Asked whether the party would accept their resignation, the MPCC president said, "It is up to AICC president Rahul Gandhi to take the final decision."

Though the NPF decided to withdraw support to the BJP-led government in Manipur this month, its state president Awangbou Newmai had said on May 19 that it would be implemented after the Lok Sabha poll process was completed on May 23.


For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more