• search
For Dehradun Updates
Allow Notification  

Uttarakhand results 2014 analysis: BJP wins all 5 seats; Congress decimated in 'Modi wave'


Uttarakhand- the hilly state, where Kedarnath is situated, is all set for "good days" ahead.

As the BJP came to power with "wide margins" in all five constituencies- Tehri Garhwal, Garhwal, Almora (SC), Nainital-Udhamsingh Nagar, Haridwar- Uttarakhand people can proudly say, "acche din aa gaye", the BJP's slogan.

It was a complete reversal for Congress as compared to 2009 results. In 2009, Congress bagged all 5 seats, but this time it was completely decimated.

In Haridwar, state chief minister Harish Rawat's wife Renuka Rawat was defeated by the former chief minister Ramesh Pokhariyal Nishank.

In Tehri, BJP candidate and the daughter-in-law of erstwhile Tehri royal family Mala Rajya Laxmi Shah, riding on a "Modi wave" defeated former CM Vijay Bahuguna's son Saket Bahuguna.

In Pauri, former BJP chief minister Bhuvan Chandra Khanduri defeated young and popular Congress leader Harak Singh Rawat.

In Nainital, former BJP chief minister Bhagat Singh Koshiyari defeated Congress MP, 57-year-old K C Singh Baba, who is the erstwhile king of Kumaon.

In Almora, BJP MLA Ajay Tamta defeated sitting Congress MP Pradeep Tamta.

[Uttar Pradesh election result analysis]

[Punjab LS result 2014 analysis]

[Haryana results 2014 analysis]

[Himachal Pradesh result 2014 analysis]

Harish Rawat bite the dust

Rawat had described Congress as a "temple" and said, "We have to see the temple, its idols and not the priest because they keep changing. Whoever does a good job will remain."

Launching a scathing attack on BJP, he had asked people not to be misguided by anti-Congress propaganda of the opposition.

Training his guns on Narendra Modi, Rawat had also said that "Gujarat is one of the worst performing states on the human development index in the country."

But, the people of Uttarakhand have selected the BJP as their 'priest'.

In 2009 general elections, BJP lost 0-5 to the Congress and the then CM B C Khanduri had resigned from his post owing to moral responsibility. Will Harish Rawat follow the same route now?

Last year's Uttarakhand flood disaster can be seen as a major reason behind Congress worst performance, as the people had blamed the government's poor handling of the situation.

Another reason can be the Congress leader Satpal Maharaj had defected to BJP few days before the elections were about to held.

Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), that could not hold to power in Delhi after 49 days, tried its luck across India, but tasted defeat, except winning 4 seats in Punjab.

AAP had fielded India's first woman Director Genral of Police (DGP), Kanchan Choudhary Bhattacharya from Haridwar, in an attempt to open its account, but failed.

[Lok Sabha election result 2014: State-wise results]

[Lok Sabha election result 2014: Party-wise results]

NOTA power in Uttarakhand

48,043 voters (1.1%) pressed NOTA button in Uttarakhand. In Almora- 15,245, Garhwal- 8,659, Haridwar- 3,049, Nainital-Udham Singh Nagar- 10,328 and Tehri- 10,762 voters exercised their right on NOTA button.

Here are the constituency wise results:

No. Constituency Winner Party Margin
1 Tehri Garhwal MALA RAJYA LAXMI SHAH BJP 192503
3 Almora AJAY TAMTA BJP 95690
4 Nainital-udhamsingh Nagar BHAGAT SINGH KOSHYARI BJP 284717

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X