In Pics: AAP candidates who failed to shine in the Lok Sabha elections

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bangalore, May 16: When Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) fought the Delhi assembly elections the party was hailed for its stunning debut. What followed next was a downward spiral for the AAP that was marred by false promises, controversies and finally a huge defeat in the Lok Sabha elections.

Here are a few AAP candidates who were in the news for all the wrong reasons but failed to strike a chord with the aam aadmi.

Arvind Kejriwal- AAP chief Arvind Kejriwal who contested against BJP's prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi from Varanasi suffered a huge loss in the Holy City.

Kejriwal, who in a very daring manner challeneged Narendra Modi while announcing his candidature, had a nearly hit and a miss situation in Varanasi. Kejriwal, who took on Modi seemed extremely confident of defeating Modi saying that the people of Varanasi had already made their choice in the AAP.

While he defeated Congress's Ajay Rai he could not overcome the massive Modi wave. Touted as one of the most toughest contest in the Lok Sabha election, Kejriwal was clearly swept by the Modi wave.

Accepting his defeat, Kejriwal said that this was the first time that they had fought the elections. He said that he was thankful for the love that the people of Varanasi had shown him.

Kumar Vishwas- AAP candidate from Amethi Kumar Vishwas who took on Congress's Rahul Gandhi and BJP's Smriti Irani, failed to create magic in the Congress bastion.

Kumar who shifted his base to Amethi three months before the elections, seemed extremely confident of defeating Rahul from Amethi but suffered a huge loss as he failed to create an impact there.

Kumar before starting his campaign said that he would defeat Rahul Gandhi and that he would out an end to 'dynasty politics.' A day after the exit polls showed AAP sufferring from most of the seats, Vishwas accepeted that the party failed to connect with the poeple on a national level.

Yogendra Yadav- AAP candidate from Gurgaon Yogendra Yadav, who contested his first Lok Sabha election lost to BJP's Inderjit Singh Rao. Yadav who contested the Lok Sabha election failed to create an impact amongst the voters even though he hails from Haryana.

Yogendra Yadav's political journey too was marred by a few 'uneventful' incidents when he too became a victim of ink attack while at a rally in Delhi.

Shazia Ilmi- AAP candidate from Ghaziabad Shazia Ilmi, who was also one of AAP's star campaigners and a first time Lok Sabha candidate was defeated by BJP's Gen VK Singh. Ilmi too grabbed headlines before the elections where she stirred up a controversy when she said that 'Muslims need to be communal this election season.'

Ilmi who contested the Delhi assembly elections too suffered a loss there from RK Puram seat.

Imli even got into a verbal fight with her opponent Gen VK Singh where she said that Singh was being used as a sacrificial lamb by the BJP.

Gul Panag- Actor turned politician Gul Panag made heads turn when she joined the AAP. Her inclusion in the party also came a little late as she was approached after late Jaspal Bhatti's wife Savita Bhatti quit the AAP.

Though she started a little late in her election campaign, she was seen busy interacting with the people on the streets of Chandigarh.

Javed Jafferry- Actor turned politician Javed Jaffery was pitted against political biggies like BJP's Rajnath Singh and Congress's Rita Bahuguna Joshi but suffered a massive defeat as he could not garner enough number of votes.

Jafferry who is also known for his comic roles in Hindi films, was embarassed a few weeks before Lok Sabha elections as he was not even a registered voter, the Election Commission said. Jafferry however defended himself saying that his name was deleted from the voters list after the previous elections.

Kejriwal magic fails to work in Varanasi

Kejriwal magic fails to work in Varanasi

Arvind Kejriwal lost to Narendra Modi from Varanasi

Kumar Vishwas loses from Amethi

Kumar Vishwas loses from Amethi

Kumar Vishwas lost the battle to Congress's Rahul Gandhi.

Yogendra Yadav loses from Gurgaon

Yogendra Yadav loses from Gurgaon

Yogendra Yadav lost to BJP's Rao Inderjit Singh from Gurgaon.

Shazia Ilmi loses to VK Singh

Shazia Ilmi loses to VK Singh

Former journalist Shazia Ilmi lost to BJP's Gen VK Singh in Ghaziabad.

Gul Panag loses to Kirron Kher

Gul Panag loses to Kirron Kher

Gul Panag lost to Kirron Kher from Chandigarh

Javed Jaffery loses to Rajnath Singh

Javed Jaffery loses to Rajnath Singh

Javed Jaffery lost to BJP's Rajnath Singh from Lucknow.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...