Kerala Assembly Elections 2021

Cherthala Assembly Election Results 2021

Cherthala is an assembly constituency in Kerala. In 2016, this constituency was won by the Communist Party Of India. Stay tuned with OneIndia for all the updates regarding this constituency. From campaign to election results, read all about Cherthala Vidhan Sabha (MLA) Constituency. Find out the winners, losers, victory margin and all other details in our special page. Cherthala under Alappuzha district of Kerala State.

S.Sarath (INC), P. Prasad (CPI), P. S. Jyothis (BDJS) are key candidates contesting from Cherthala constituency in the 2021 Kerala Assembly elections along with many other independent candidates.

In 2016 Kerala Assembly elections, the total percentage of voters in Cherthala Assembly Constituency was recorded as 45.70 percent.

In 2016, P.thilothaman of Communist Party Of India won the seat by defeating Adv.s.sarath from Indian National Congress with a margin of 7196 votes.
Cherthala Assembly constituency is falling under Alappuzha Lok sabha constituency. In 2019 Lok Sabha elections, Communist Party of India (Marxist) candidate Adv. A M Ariff won from Alappuzha Lok Sabha (MP) Seat with the margin of 10474 votes by defeating Adv. Shanimol Osman from Indian National Congress.

Date of Polling: Tuesday, 06 April 2021
Date of Counting: Sunday, 02 May 2021
Candidate's Name Party Votes
Vayalar Jayakumar BSP NA*
P. Prasad CPI NA*
S.Sarath INC NA*
P. S. Jyothis BDJS NA*
Karthikeyan IND NA*
Sarath S Kannattuveli IND NA*
Shajahan V A IND NA*
Adv.sonnymon K Mathew IND NA*

*Results to be declared on May 2nd, 2021.

Strike Rate
CPI 62.5%
INC 37.5%
CPI won 5 times and INC won 3 times since 1977 elections.

Cherthala Assembly election results (2016)

Candidate's Name Party Level Votes Vote Rate % Margin
P.thilothaman CPI Winner 81,197 45.70% 7,196
Adv.s.sarath INC Runner Up 74,001 41.65%
P.s.rajeev BDJS 3rd 19,614 11.04%
C.p.thilakan BSP 4th 845 0.48%
S.sarath IND 6th 639 0.36%
Sonnymon K Mathew IND 7th 348 0.20%
Vayalar Rajeevan IND 8th 174 0.10%
K.v.joseph IND 9th 150 0.08%

Cherthala Past Election Results

Candidate's Name Party Level Votes Vote Rate % Margin
P.thilothaman CPI Winner 81,197 45.70% 7,196
Adv.s.sarath INC Runner Up 74,001 41.65%
P.thilothaman CPI Winner 86,193 53% 18,315
K.r.gouriamma JPSS Runner Up 67,878 42%
P.thilothaman CPI Winner 55,626 52% 8,534
C.k.shajimohan INC Runner Up 47,092 44%
A K Antony INC Winner 59,661 52% 6,860
C K Chandrappan CPI Runner Up 52,801 46%
A.k.antony INC Winner 56,691 51% 8,385
C.k.chandrappan CPI Runner Up 48,306 44%
C.k. Chandrappan CPI Winner 50,844 49% 991
Vayalar Ravi INC Runner Up 49,853 48%
Vayalar Ravi INC Winner 43,812 49% 2,284
C. K. Chandrappan CPI Runner Up 41,528 46%
Vayalar Ravi IND Winner 36,940 51% 1,873
P. S. Sreenivasan CPI Runner Up 35,067 48%
P. S. Sreenivasan CPI Winner 38,613 57% 11,413
Joseph Mathan JNP Runner Up 27,200 40%
The "ONEINDIA" word mark and logo are owned by Digitech Media Pvt. Ltd.