• search
For Bengaluru Updates
Allow Notification  

Know your state this LS poll: Punjab


Bangalore, March 28: The Lok sabha election is set to begin on April 7 and will continue till May 12. The results will be declared on May 16. The election will see elections to 543 parliamentary seats across 28 states and seven Union territories (UT).

OneIndia brings to you the poll statistics from each state and UT of the Union.


Election date: April 30

[Know your states this LS poll]

Number of Lok Sabha constituencies: 13

Name of the constituencies: Amritsar, Anandpur Sahib, Bhatinda, Faridkot (SC), Fatehgarh Sahib (SC), Ferozpur, Gurdaspur, Hoshiarpur (SC), Jalandhar (SC), Khadoor Sahib, Ludiahana, Patiala, Sangrur.

2009 result (seats): Congress 8, Siromani Akali Dal (SAD) 4, BJP 1

2009 party-wise vote-share:

Total voters this year: 1.97 crore (19.7 million)

Polling booths: 21,957

First-time voters: 4.8 lakh (0.48 million)

Fact: The contest between BJP's Arun Jaitley and Congress's Captain Amarinder Singh will be the most absorbing contest in this election.

OneIndia News

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X