Modi Cabinet 2.0 Highlights: Portfolios allocated, first meeting held

New Delhi, May 31: After a grand swearing-in ceremony on Thursday, portfolios were allocated to ministers in Prime Minister Narendra Modi's new cabinet on Friday. Expectations are high from Modi government after the BJP stormed to power for the second time in a row by winning 303 of the 543 seats in the Lok Sabha elections 2019.

Several ministers of the Modi government Friday took charge of their ministries within hours of their portfolios being allocated, with some outlining their plans and speaking about challenges. Later, they got together at the Prime Minister's Office (PMO) in South Block for the first meeting of the Narendra Modi Cabinet, that took some key decisions like announcing pension to farmers, traders and shopkeepers. The cabinet also decided to convene the first session of the 17th Lok Sabha from June 17 to July 26, with the regular budget to be presented on July 5.

Prime Minister Modi also took charge of his office in the morning. Finance minister Nirmala Sitharaman and her deputy Anurag Thakur, External Affairs minister S Jaishankar, Railway minister Piyush Goyal, Information and Broadcasting minister Prakash Javadekar, Minority Affairs minister Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi and Oil minister Dharmendra Pradhan were among the ministers who took charge Friday. Minister of the newly-formed 'Jal Shakti' Gajendra Singh Shekhawat, Minister for Personnel Jitendra Singh, Power and New and Renewable Energy minister R K Singh also assumed charge of their ministries.

Full list of Portfolios

All the highlights sweating-in to first cabinet meeting here:

Click Here to Pick your dream Cabinet

Have a great day!