• search
For Bengaluru Updates
Allow Notification  

Namma Bengaluru honours the 'real heroes'

By Anita

Anita Reddy
Bangalore, Feb 10: Yes, the much awaited verdict is out. The winners are beaming with pride and has reinforced public belief that goodness does get rewarded and noticed no matter what. The coveted Namma Bengaluru Awards 2010 has been declared and the deserving winners received thundering applause in a glittering ceremony at the Bangalore Palace yesterday (Feb 9).

Karnataka has over the years, slipped in the moral front with the increasing cases of corruption and scams hitting the state. While Padmashree Anita Reddy won the title of 'Namma Bengalurean of the Year' for her exemplar work for the rights of slum dwellers for the last 28 years, the winner in the Elected Representative category went to Jayanagar MLA B N.Vijay Kumar.

Vasudeva Adiga , a pioneer in the business who serves affordable and tasty food through the hugely popular restaurant chain Adigas Fast Food Pvt Ltd won the award in the Entrepreneur category. H.Siddaiah was another official who won the award in the Public Individual category in the capacity of Commissioner of BBMP. His open-door policy of governance had earned him a lot of laurels.

T. Raja also bagged the award in the Private Individual category for his unconditional service to the cause of the destitute and dying people on the streets. Also called Auto Raja, his achievements are something that needs to be imbibed by all of us.

The eminent jury consisting of Lokayukta Justice Santosh Hegde and Rajeev Chandrasekhar, Member of Parliament congratulated the winners on the occasion and Rajeev said, “At a time, when citizens are being buffeted by news every day of political corruption and increasingly feel let down by its political and bureaucratic leadership, Bengaloreans have a reason to be proud – Proud of its heroes who are devoted to our city and its residents. On our part as Bengalureans, it is important that we recognize, salute, respect and are inspired by these heroes and their extra ordinary contributions."

Read: Namma Bengaluru Awards 2010 up for grabs

The complete list of the winners are -

Public Institution - BMTC

Public Individual - Siddaiah

Elected Representatives - B N Vijay Kumar

Private Institution - Children"s Movement for Civic Awareness (CMCA)

Private Individual - Dr Radha S Murthy and T.Raja

Sportsperson - Vijay Rao Shinde and Anupama Puchimanda

Entrepreneur - Vasudeva Adiga

Bengalurean of the Year - Anita Reddy

OneIndia News

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X