• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Nitish's second term ends Lalu's reign in Bihar?

By Abdul Nisar

Nitish Kumar
Patna, Nov 25: It was a sleepless night for Biharis. They celebrated the crowning of their Maharaja. Assembly poll result was an eye opener to the rest of the world, who still like to believe Bihar as an undeveloped and illiterate state.

Bihar Assembly Polls
Party 2005 2010 GAIN/LOSS
JDU 88 115 +27
BJP 55 91 +36
RJD 54 22 -32
LJP 10 3 -7
CONG 9 4 -5
OTHERS 27 8 -19

In last five years, Nitish Kumar showed the way of development in the state, which was once ruled by a ordinary house wife and her husband. The triumph of Nitish Kumar uprooted Lalu Prasad in his home turfs. Rabri Devi tasted the sore taste of failure in Sonepur and Raghopur constituencies.

Read: Bihar Assembly Polls 2010 Analysis

Nithish Kumar's Janata Dal (United) and Bharatiya Janatha Party (BJP) has grabbed 206 seats. In 2005 Assembly polls, JD(U)-BJP alliance had won 146 seats. In 2005, JD(U) alone won 88 seats but, it increased to 115 seats in 2010. Also it was BJP's biggest victory in Bihar, where they increased 36 seats to win 91 in 2010.

Lalu Prasad Yadav led Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) and Paswan's Lok Jan Shakti Party (LJP) faced the greatest loss in its history. In 2005, RJD scored 54 seats but it decreased to mere 22 seats in 2010 polls. LJP lost 7 seats, where it had 10 seats in 2005.

Another party faced the death blow by NDA was Centre ruling Congress. In 2005, Congress got 9 seats but, it decreased to 4 seats in 2010. The results showed that AICC General Secretary Rahul Gandhi's charisma failed to attract the voters in Bihar.

OneIndia News

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X