• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Nitish creates history in Bihar; grabs 206 seats


Nitish Kumar
Patna, Nov 25: Creating history in Bihar's politics, Nitish Kumar once again back to the power of the state as the poll result on Nov 24 showed that Nitish won a landslide victory with JD(U) and the BJP alliance grabbed four-fifths of the seats (206) in the 243 assembly seats.

Nitish Kumar's victory is believed to the triumph of development, progress, caste-religion discrepancy or rather a successful triumph over gundaraj (reign of goons) in the state as Bihar was earlier known as.

From the very beginning, 2010 assembly polls counting hinted that JD(U)-BJP alliance would create a history in Bihar with their new win and they proved as clinching 206 seats, where JD(U) won 115 of the 141 seats.

Read: Bihar Polls 2010: Nitish clean sweeps opposition

Just after their significant win, Nitish Kumar announced, "I had not imagined to get so many seats and such a bigger mandate. I am overwhelmed and pray to the god to give me enough strength to do more. I have no magic wand but nothing is impossible with a strong willpower."

Pointing at the Muslim's vote that the party acquired, JD(U) leader Ghulam Rasool Baliavi informed, "Muslims have sent a clear message to the 'self-proclaimed' secular parties that they should not take the community for granted."

While on the other side, Lalu Prasad's RJD-LJP alliance managed to clinch only 25 seats (RJD- 23, LJP- 2) and former CM of the state Rabri Devi lost in two seats.

OneIndia News

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X