• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Only 11 MPs pay tribute to Parl attack martyrs

Written by: Staff

New Delhi, Dec 13: Even as nation on Sunday, Dec 13, paid tribute to the martyrs who sacrificed their lives fighting terror attack on Parliament, the very Members of Parliament whose lives were saved seemed to have forgotten their saviours.

At the ceremony inside the Parliament complex to pay floral tributes to Dec 13, 2001 attack martyrs, only 11 MPs were present.

Among those who attended the solemn ceremony include Vice President Hamid Ansari, Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi, Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar and Leader of the Opposition LK Advani.

Barring a few MPs who paid the floral tributes, others were busy taking a Sunday off.

Five heavily armed gunmen had stormed Parliament on Dec 13, 2001 and opened indiscriminate fire, killing nine people.

Among the dead were five Delhi Police personnel, a woman constable of the Central Reserve Police Force, two Rajya Sabha Secretariat officials and a gardener.

A year later four terrorists were arrested for the attack and found guilty after trial. Mohammad Afzal Guru was the only accused to be awarded the death penalty.

OneIndia News

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X