• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

1947-2009: List of Prime Ministers of India

By Super Admin

From Jawaharlal Nehru to Manmohan Singh, here is the list of Indian Prime Ministers from 1947.

Jawaharlal Nehru (1947-1964)

Nehru is the first Prime Minister of Independent India. He also holds the record for continuously being in the office for the longest period (Aug 15, 1947 to May 27, 1964) about 17 years.

Gulzari Lal Nanda A (1964-1964)

Gandhian to the core, was interim Prime Minister on two occasions after the sudden demise of Pt. Nehru (from may 27, 1964 to June 9, 1964), for 14 days, and again after the sudden demise of Lal Bahadur Shastri (from January 11 to 24, 1966), again for a period of 14 days.

Lal Bahadur Shastri (1965-1966)

Though he came to power under the shadow cast of the ever-famous Pt. Nehru, he quickly won the hearts of all Indians, especially after routing Pakistan in the 1965 war. Indian still reverbrates with his slogan 'Jai Jawan ! Jai Kisan !'. He held office for 582 days, from June 9, 1964 to January 11, 1966.

Indira Gandhi (1966-1984)

The Iron lady of India held office from Jan. 24, 1966 to March 24, 1977 and again from Jan. 14 to Oct. 31,1984, for a total of 5,831 days, just 300 days short of her father, Pt. Nehru. Abolition of privy purse, nationalization of banks, birth of Bangladesh are some of her achievements.

Morarji Desai (1977-1979)

The first non-congress Prime Minister since Independence, Morarji Desai headed the Janata Party Government for 857 days, from March 24, 1977 to July 28, 1979. He was one of those rare Gandhians.

Charan Singh (1979-1980)

Known as a 'kisan' Prime Minister from Uttar Pradesh, he never faced Parliament, even though he was in office for 171 days, from July 28, 1979 to Jan. 14, 1980. Within days of assuming office, one of the supporting parties withdrew its support, after which he continued as caretaker P.M , till fresh elections were held.

Rajiv Gandhi (1984-1989)

The youngest Prime Minister of India so far. Rajiv the grand son of Pt. Nehru assumed office at the age of 41, the day his mother Indira Gandhi was assassinated (Oct. 31,1984). In the 1985 elections, he led his party to a big win and continued as PM till Dec 1,1989, when his party lost the hustings.

VP Singh (1989-1990)

VP Singh a Janata Dal leader became Prime Minister on Dec. 2,1989 and continued till Nov. 10, 1990 (344 days). He took a major decision in implementing the Mandal Commission recommendations.

Chandra Shekar (1990-1991)

Known as the 'Young Turk' became Prime Minister on Nov. 10,1990 and continued till June 21, 1991 (224 days).

PV Narasimha Rao (1991-1996)

The first ever leader from South to hold this office, he ruled for full five years, from June 21, 1991 to May 10, 1996 (1, 785 days), despite a hung Parliament, initially.

AB Vajpayee (1996)

Vajpayee is the first 'bachelor' Prime Minister of India. He was at the helm for 16 days from May 16 to June 1, 1996, creating a record for the shortest stint in office.

HD Deve Gowda (1997)

The second Government of the 11th Lok Sabha was headed by Haradanahalli Dodde Deve Gowda, who was in office from June 1, 1996 to April 21, 1997 (for roughly 11 months).

IK Gujral (1997)

Inder Kumar Gujral became Prime Minister on April 21, 1997. He resigned office on Nov. 28. 1997.

AB Vajpayee (1999-2004)

He assumed charge for the second time on Mar 19, 1998. He took the oath on Oct 13, 1999 after General Election. He submitted resignation on May 13, 2004.

Dr Manmohan Singh (2004-2009)

Former Finance Minister and a globally renowned economist Dr Manmohan Singh completed five years term as PM of India. He assumed charge on May 22, 2004 and resigned on May 18 2009.

Dr Manmohan Singh (2009-Lok Sabha terms ends by 2014)

Manmohan Singh was sworn-in as the Prime Minister of India for the second consecutive term. He is the first PM to retain the post for the second consecutive term after Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru, the India's first Prime Minister.

OneIndia News

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X