• search

Naveen Patnaik wins trust vote in Orissa Assembly

Written by: Staff

Bhubaneswar, Mar 11: Orissa Chief Minster Naveen Patnaik has won the trust vote by voice vote on Wednesday. Mar 11, four days after the BJP withdrew support to ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) govt.

Amidst noisy scenes, Patnaik moved the vote of confidence in the 147 member state Assembly. The BJD, which has 61 members in the 147-member legislature, wanted the support of 13 members to win the trust vote. The BJP has a 32-members, However three of them have resigned and decided to back the government.

Four Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) legislators, one each of the Communist Party of India and Communist Party of India-Marxist, six independents also assured to support BJD.

Congress leader Narasingha Mishra described the floor test as 'violative of model code of conduct'. He called upon the speaker Kishore Mohanty to convene a meeting of all political parties before the motion could be debated.

The Congress stand was supported by BJP as well. However, the Speaker said there were instances when special sessions of Assemblies had been convened in Assam and Mizoram under similar circustances.

OneIndia News

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more