• search

BJP pulls down K'taka Coalition Govt

Written by: Staff

New Delhi, Oct 6: BJP has finally withdrawn support to the Coalition in Karnataka Govt. The 20 month JD-S lead govt finally collapsed after the power-transfer deal fell through. BJP has called for immediate polls in the state.

This decision was reached after the BJP Parliamentary Committee met today morning in New Delhi. Speaking to media here, Yashwant Sinha, the senior BJP leader in-charge of Karnataka said, "Issue is not just of power-transfer but of betrayal". Sinha also demanded immediate election in the state. "The moral of the story is we have learnt a lesson. We have to be careful in future," he said.

Earlier, BJP leader M Venkaiah Naidu termed the JD(S) decision to not transfer power to the BJP as the 'worst-ever betrayal' by any political party in the country. He said the people will not forgive the JD(S) for backtracking on its promise for transfer of power in Karnataka.

The 79 BJP legislators in Bangalore will stage a dharna on Oct 7 and withdraw support from Govt. Congress Party to meet and decide the next course of action.

Senior BJP leaders L K Advani, Murli Manohar Joshi, Sushma Swaraj, M Venkaiah Naidu, Arun Jaitly, Yashwant Sinha, Anant Kumar and Mr Yediyurappa attended the meeting.

BJP ministers, including Mr Yediyurappa, have resigned from their posts to pressurise their coalition partner whereas the ministers belonging to the JD (S) have recommended convening of the Karnataka Legislative Assembly on October 18 for a possible trial of strength.

Mr Yediyurappa led a delegation of BJP MPs yesterday to urge the party leadership to ensure that there was a final decision by this evening so that the BJP in Karnataka could end its support to the coalition.

The Congress, which is in the opposition in Karnataka has objected to Governor Rameshwar Thakur's statement that the JD(S) can't unilaterally recommend convening of the assembly according to its convenience. It had demanded a trial of strength immediately without allowing any scope for horse-trading of MLAs in the House.

In the 224-member assembly, the BJP is the single largest party with 79 members followed by the Congress with 64. The JD(S) with 48 members is third.

The rest consists of rebel Janata Dal MLAs or members belonging to small political groups and independents.


For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X