Know your state this LS poll: Jammu and Kashmir

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Srinagar, March 30: The Lok sabha election is set to begin on April 7 and will continue till May 12. The results will be declared on May 16. The election will see elections to 543 parliamentary seats across 28 states and seven Union territories (UT).

OneIndia brings to you the poll statistics from each state and UT of the Union.


Election dates: April 10, April 17, April 24, April 30 and May 7 (Five phases)

[Know your state this LS poll]

Number of Lok Sabha constituencies: 6

Name of parliamentary constituencies: Anantnag, Baramulla, Jammu, Ladakh (ST), Srinagar, Udhampur

2009 result (seats): National Conference (NC)-3, INC-2, Independents-1

2009 party-wise vote-share:

Total voters this year: 69,33,118

Polling booths: 9,633

First-time voters: 0.3074

Fact: Polling in six Lok Sabha constituencies in Jammu and Kashmir will be held in five phases from April 10, in which around 70 lakh voters will exercise their franchise.

More than 83 per cent of the 1,600 polling stations in Anantnag Lok Sabha constituency in Kashmir have been designated as hypersensitive or sensitive by the election authorities as they are apprehensive of violence during polling in these areas.

Ruling National Conference candidate and sitting Lok Sabha member from Anantnag Mehboob Beg will lock horns with opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) president Mehbooba Mufti.

Two former chief ministers of J&K are among as many as 14 heavyweights who have jumped into the fray for the upcoming Lok Sabha polls in the state.

Union Minister Farooq Abdullah is a two-time former Chief Minister of the state (1987 and 1996) who has entered the contest for the Srinagar Lok Sabha seat, which is an NC bastion.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...