J&K Assembly has 111 seats: Why election takes place in 87 seats only?

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bengaluru, Dec 23: Results of election in 87 seats of Jammu and Kashmir assembly were being declared on Tuesday. But the actual number of seats in the assembly is 111 (increased by the 20th Amendment Act of the state's constitution from 100).

[Follow J&K, Jharkhand assembly election results LIVE]

So why does election take place in only 87 seats?


It is because the rest of the 24 seats are designated for the territory of the state which is under Pakistan's occupation since 1947. These seats remain officially vacant as per Section 48 of the Jammu and Kashmir constitution. These states are not taken into account while considering the total membership of the assembly during deciding majorities and government's functioning. Hence, 87 remains the actual number while the magic figure remains 44 to form the government.

While Kashmir Valley region has 46 seats, Jammu has 37 seats and Ladakh region has 4 seats. Two women members may be nominated by the Governor of the state if he/she feels they are not adequately represented in the Lower House of the bicameral legislature of the state.

The tenure of the house is six years.

The current distribution of seats in Jammu and Kashmir, which was done according to the 2011 Census, is like the following: Kashmir Valley (46 seats - 52.8%), Ladakh Division (4 seats - 4.59%) and Jammu Division (37 seats - 42.5%). In November 2010, the Supreme Court of India froze the delimitation process in Jammu and Kashmir until 2026.

Oneindia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...