TSD Rally: Team Tata Motors confident of victory in Chikmagalur

Subscribe to Oneindia News
Team Tata Motors
Chikmagalur, June 8: As always, the coffee town of Chikmagalur is buzzing with activity on the eve of the Grand Krishna Rally of Chikmagalur. This is the first round of the 2014 Indian National TSD Rally Championship and will be held here today.

The rally route - that is undisclosed till the morning of the event so as to challenge the navigational skill of the teams - here is generally challenging but the participants are up to it and have generally come out with flying colours.

The rally section is 112Km long and 178Km long including 66Km of free run routes. The rally will begin and end at the Chikmagalur Catholic Club and will go through picturesque countryside and coffee estate regions in and around here.

A total of 32 entries have been received with 16 of them being from around the country. Twelve are in the Chikmagalur class, which are local entries and four entries are in the Couple category (has to be a team of a male and female).

Team Tata Motors has fielded three teams with two-time and defending champions in the Pro Stock Class consisting of Bangaloreans Chidananda Murthy and BS Sujith Kumar (Sidvin Core Tech), Amol Satoskar (Goa) and Nirav Mehta (Mumbai) and the third is an all-ladies team of Vanita Kang (Chandigarh) and Nidhi Mittal (Mumbai) and they will drive in the Ladies Class.

Murthy said: "We are glad to be back as a part of Team Tata Motors and hope to clinch the title for the third time. We are also hoping for a good result for the team.

"Chikmagalur is a great place to rally and we plan to enjoy ourselves fully during the event." Sujith Kumar said: "Even after so many years of stage rallying, TSD rallying is still a great way to enjoy motorsport. We thank Tata Motors for the support. We will give it our best and hope the team gets good results."

Eight other rounds are scheduled for the season in Jaipur (June 28-29), Bangalore (Aug 16-17), Coimbatore (Sep 6-7), Nashik (Sep 20-21), Baripada (Nov 8-9), Kolkata (Nov 15-16), Ranchi (Nov 29-30) and Chennai (Dec 20-21).

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...