Sania Mirza's Khel Ratna award stayed by Karnataka HC

Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Aug 26: The Karnataka High Court (HC) on Wednesday put a stay on Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna to be awarded to tennis ace Sania Mirza after a plea from parlympian athlete, HN Girisha.

A notice has also been sent to the centre by the Karnataka High Court for the same.

Sania Mirza`s Khel Ratna award stayed

Girisha had claimed that he was more deserving for the award, but ignored by the selection committee.

As per a DeccanHerald report, "Paralympic athlete H N Girisha has moved the High Court seeking stay on the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna, 2015, to be conferred on tennis player Sania Mirza by arguing that she didn't win any medal during 2011-2014.

Also read: When Smriti Irani fought with BBC for Sania Mirza

In contrast, Girisha stated, he has 90 marks to his account as per the criteria: 70 marks for winning a silver medal at the London Paralympics in 2012 and 20 marks for a bronze medal in Asian Games in 2014. The marks were earned from 2011 to 2014.

Sania Mirza's name was officially approved for the coveted Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award, becoming only the second tennis player to be nominated for the highest sporting honour.

"It's a tremendous honour for me to be conferred the Khel Ratna award and I feel humbled with the love and respect showered on me by my country," Sania had earlier said.

"Representing my country in all corners of the world has been my great privilege for so many years and this recognition of my efforts by the government of India is certain to inspire me to earn more laurels for our country. I would like to wish all my fellow Indians a happy independence day," she further said.

Sania, currently ranked world number one in women's doubles, scripted history by becoming the first Indian to win a women's doubles Grand Slam title when she and Martina Hingis clinched the Wimbledon trophy earlier this year.

Sania is only the second tennis player after Leander Paes to be named for the top award. Paes had been bestowed the honour way back in 1996 after his bronze medal in the Atlanta Olympics.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...