Premier Futsal 2016 to kick off on July 15 in Chennai

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Chennai, July 13: World's first multi-national Futsal tournament, Premier Futsal will kick-start their campaign in Chennai on July 15.

The first edition of the league will see 6 teams (Mumbai, Goa, Chennai, Bengaluru, Kolkata and Kochi) divided in two groups to fight it out over 8 match days and 13 matches to qualify for the finals which will be played in Goa on July 24.

Premier Futsal 2016 logo (Image courtesy: Premier Futsal twitter handle)

Yesterday (July 12), 3 marquee players were unveiled by Premier Futsal. Manchester United legend Ryan Giggs, Argentine great Hernan Crespo and Brazilian superstar Ronaldinho who will join the likes of Paul Scholes, Michel Salgado and Futsal great Falcao. 

The Mumbai franchise has been picked up by the renowned car designer Dilip Chhabria. Goa and Kochi franchises have been bought by Viiking Ventures Pvt. Ltd. and Dubai based Yes Events Management respectively.

Kannada film star Puneeth Rajkumar and Bengali actor Jeet will own the Bengaluru and Kolkata franchises respectively. Last but not the least, Janani Ramesh of the Hindu Group are holding the ownership of the Chennai side.

Speaking about the tournament, Premier Futsal Co-Founder Nithyashree Subban said, "Amidst all the false allegations and attempts to tarnish the image of Premier Futsal, we are proud to kick-start our inaugural edition as scheduled on July 15 here in Chennai. It was a strategic decision to host the league in just 2 cities; Chennai and Goa, and with 6 franchises. We have managed to secure signatures of players who are the legends of the game and will be seen playing in India in a few days. As Premier Futsal Management, we are committed to grow Futsal here in India and we will expand the league to other cities in the future editions."

Premier Futsal also concluded 'Launchpad', a talent hunt program which was conducted in 8 cities to scout for Indian Futsal players. The shortlisted Indian Futsallers were hosted a boot camp in Chennai and 5 players from each of the franchise markets were announced today.

Each of these 5 players have been drawn in to the teams of their respective cities and will get a chance to play alongside the current best Futsal players in the world and the marquee football players.

The league will kick-off 15 July 2016, and will be telecast live and exclusive on Sony SIX, SONY ESPN and Sony AATH. Matches will also be available to live stream on SonyLIV.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...