PHOTOS: PM Modi felicitates Asian Games medal winners

Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Oct 14: Prime Minister Narendra Modi today felicitated India's Asian Games 2014 medal winners, here.

Photos of gold medal winners; Full list of India's medallists

The 17th edition of the Asian Games was held in Incheon, South Korea, from September 19 to October 4. India won 57 medals (11 gold, 10 silver and 36 bronze).

Modi congratulated all the medal winners for bringing laurels to the country. He said they are truly India's pride. Later, Modi shared the pictures on his Twitter page.

The Prime Minister urged the athletes to feel free to give their suggestions to him and call on him personally if they had anything specific to talk about.

Gold medal winners Yogeshwar Dutt, Sania Mirza, Mary Kom, India's men and women kabaddi team members were among the host of athletes honoured on Tuesday.

On Monday (October 13), gold medal winners were given cheques of Rs 20 lakhs while silver medallists received Rs 10 lakhs. For bronze winners, it was Rs 6 lakhs. Sports minister Sarbananda Sonowal handed over the cheques.

Sonowal congratulated and spoke to the athletes. He said all the winning athletes' performances were "inspiring" to others and they should now try and do well at 2016 Olympics in Rio de Janeiro (Brazil).

Here are the pictures from the felicitation ceremony. (All photos courtesy of

Indian boxers

Indian boxers with PM Narendra Modi and Minister for Sports Sarbananda Sonowal. Mary Kom was the lone Indian boxer to win gold. There were bronze medals for India.

Tennis team

Indian tennis players with PM Narendra Modi and Minister for Sports, Sarbananda Sonowal.


The medal winning shooters with Prime Minister and sports minister.


The Indian wrestlers with PM and sports minister.


The swimmers and officials with PM and sports minister.

Women's Kabaddi team

Gold medal winning women's kabaddit team with PM and sports minister.

Men's Kabaddi team

The gold medal winning men's kabaddi team with PM and sports minister.

Rowing team

Indian rowers with PM and sports minister.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...