Kabaddi World Cup 2016: Semi-finals schedule, venue, squads

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Ahmedabad, Oct 20: The Kabaddi World Cup 2016 has entered the semi-final stage. Thailand were the last team to qualify and set up its semi-final date with hosts India after beating Japan 37-33 in a hard-fought Group B clash on Wednesday (Oct 19).

The tournament which began on October 7, saw 12 teams participating in the league games. Now we have four teams left who will now clash in the knock-out stage to get closer to the trophy. Republic of Korea are the only unbeaten team so far in the tournament. They have won all their 5 league games and did a major upset after defeating title favourites India in the opening match.

Kabaddi World Cup 2016: Semi-finals schedule, venues, squads

Hosts and defending champions India, who won their last four games with a big margin, after shock defeat against Korea are still favourites. The seven time world champions are eyeing another title while remaining three teams would be hoping to end India's dominance in Kabaddi.

Here is the Kabaddi World Cup 2016 semi-final schedule, squads, venue:

21st October (Friday) - 7:50 PM IST

Semi-final 1 - Republic of Korea (Group A Topper) Vs Iran (Group B 2nd Placed Team) - Ahmedabad (TransStadia)

21st October (Friday) - 8:50 PM IST

Semi-final 2 - India (Group A 2nd Placed Team) Vs Thailand (Group B Topper) - Ahmedabad (TransStadia)

Final on 22nd October (Saturday) - 9 PM IST

All matches LIVE on Star Sports & Star HD


India: Anup Kumar (C), Ajay Thakur, Deepak Niwas Hooda, Jasvir Singh, Pardeep Narwal, Rahul Chaudhary, Dharamraj Cherathalan, Mohit Chhillar, Surender Nada, Surjeet Narwal, Kiran Parmar, Manjeet Chhillar, Sandeep Narwal, Nitin Tomar.

Iran: Meraj Sheykh (C), Abolfazl Maghsoudlou Mahalli, Gholamabbas Korouki, Mohammadesmaeil Maghsoudloumahalli, Mohammadtaghi Paeinmahali, Mohsen Maghsoudloujafari, Abozar Mohajer Mighani, Fazel Atrachali, Hadi Tajik, Milad Sheibak, Soleiman Pahlevani, Mohammad Esmaeil Nabibakhsh, Farhad Rahimi Milaghardan, Saeid Ghaffari.

Republic of Korea: Dong Ju Hong (C), Cheol Gyu Shin, Dong Geon Lee, Jang Kun Lee, Chan Sik Park, Dong Gyu Kim, Jae Cheole Lee, Jae Min Lee, Young Chang Ko, Gyung Tae Kim, Seong Ryeol Kim, Tae Beom Kim, Tae Deok Eom, Yong Joo Ok.

Thailand: Khomsan Thongkham (C), Aniwat Phakphian, Chanwit Wichian, Phodsawi Sawangyai, Pramot Saising, Santi Bunchoet, Sarawut Hopet, Warit Songsri, Kittichai Kanket, Peeradach Jantajam, Phuwanai Wannasaen, Saithon Rungsawang, Khunakon Chanjaroen, Tin Phonchoo.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...