IPTL: Indian Aces win inaugural title

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Dubai, Dec 13: Novak Djokovic bageled Gael Monfils as inaugural champions Indian Aces signed off their IPTL campaign with a 15-29 defeat against UAE Royals, here today.

Serbian great Djokovic wrapped up the league with a 6-0 thrashing of the Frenchman. Indian Aces' Ana Ivanovic had secured a close 6-5 win Kristina Mladenovic but the Frenchwoman combined with Serbia's Nenad Zimonjic to outplay India's star pair of Rohan Bopanna and Sania Mirza 6-2 in the mixed doubles contest.

Indian Aces are the champions

There was no stopping the hosts after that as they won all three remaining matches. Zimonjic and Goran Ivanisevic scored a comfortable 6-2 win over Monfils and Cedric Pioline in the men's doubles to consolidate the lead.

Ivanisevic secured a close 6-5 win over Pioline in the Men's Legends singles and Djokovic close the inaugural league in a style.

Final Standings

1. Indian Aces (39 points) - Played 12; Won 8

2. UAE Royals (37) - Played 12; Won 7

3. Manila Mavericks (35) - Played 12; Won 6

4. Singapore Slammers (24) - Played 12; Won 3


Please Wait while comments are loading...