In Pics: Winners and scorelines in World Cup football finals since 1930

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bangalore, June 5: A unique aspect of the Fifa World Cup football is that till 2006, Europe and Latin America had won the title by turn. In the 18 editions of the tournament held between 1930 and 2006, Europe and Latin America had won it nine times each. The sequence was disturbed in 2010 when Spain won it, giving Europe a 10-9 lead over Latin America. Can the Latin powerhouse strike back this time, particularly when the tournament is being held in its home turf?

Here is a look at the scorelines in the final in the 19 editions of the World Cup football held so far.

beat Argentina 4-2 in the final

The first World Cup saw an all-Latin America final while the USA finished third.

beat former Czechoslovakia 2-1 in the final

Germany beat Austria 3-2 in the all-Europe affair

beat Hungary 4-2 in the final

Brazil defeated Sweden 4-2 to clinch the third position.

beat Brazil 2-1 in the final round match to finish winners

Sweden finished third while Spain finished fourth in this edition.

beat Hungary 3-2 in the final

Austria beat Uruguay 3-1 to finish third.
Hosts: Switzerland

beat Sweden 5-2 in the final

France beat West Germany 6-3 to finish third.
(Host: Sweden)

beat former Czechoslovakia 3-1 in the final

Chile beat former Yugoslavia 1-0 to finish third.
(Hosts: Chile)

beat erstwhile West Germany 4-2 in the final

Portugal beat erstwhile Soviet Union 2-1 to finish third (Hosts: England)

beat Italy 4-1 in the final

Erstwhile West Germany defeated Uruguay 1-0 to finish third. (Hosts: Mexico)

beat Holland 2-1 in the final

Poland beat Brazil 1-0 to finish third.
(Hosts: West Germany)

beat Holland 3-1 in the final

Brazil beat Italy 2-1 to finish third. (Hosts: Argentina)

beat erswhile West Germany 3-1 in the final

Poland beat France 3-2 to finish third. (Hosts: Spain)

beat erstwhile West Germany 3-2 in the final

France beat Belgium 4-2 to finish third. (Hosts: Mexico)

beat Argentina 1-0 in the final

Italy beat England 2-1 to finish third (Hosts: Italy)

beat Italy 3-2 on penalty shoot-out

Sweden beat Bulgaria 4-0 in the 3rd/4th position play-off. (Hosts: USA)

beat Brazil 3-0 in teh final

Croatia beat Holland 2-1 to finish third. (Hosts: Holland)

beat Germany 2-0 in the final

Turkey beat South Korea 3-2 to finish third.
(Hosts: Japan and South Korea)

beat France 5-3 in penalty shoot-out in final

Germany beat Portugal 2-1 to finish third.
(Hosts: Germany)

beat Holland 1-0 in the final

Germany beat Uruguay 2-1 to finish third.
(Hosts: South Africa)

Oneindia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...