Hockey: Champions Trophy 2014 Fixtures, Times, TV Schedule

Subscribe to Oneindia News

The Champions Trophy 2014 men's hockey tournament will be held in Bhubaneswar from December 6 to 14. This is the 35th edition.

World number 1 Australia are the defending champions. They are in Pool A with Belgium, England and Pakistan. Hosts India, ranked 11th in the world are in Pool B with Netherlands (world no. 2), Germany and Argentina.

All 8 captains pose with the trophy

In the previous edition (2012), Australia beat Netherlands 2-1 in the final in Melbourne. Australia made it 5 titles in a row in 2012 and are now bidding to extend that to 6.

From 2012, the tournament is being held every two years. India lost to Australia in the semi-finals in 2012. In the third place play-off they were beaten again, by Pakistan.

The matches will be shown LIVE on Ten Sports (in India)

On Twitter, follow the updates on official International Hockey Federation's (FIH) handle @FIH_Hockey

Use hashtags #CT2014 #BestOfTheBest

Live streaming on

How the 8 teams qualify for Champions Trophy

  • The host
  • The teams placed 1st - 5th in the previous Champions Trophy
  • The winners of the previous FIH Champions Challenge 1
  • One or two places to be nominated by the FIH Executive Board
  • If one of the teams qualified under T2 or T3 above declines the invitation to play in the next FIH Champions Trophy, that place will be offered to the team placed 6th in the previous FIH Champions Trophy. Similarly, if two teams decline the invitation to play in the next Champions Trophy, the second replacement place will be offered to the team placed 7th in the previous FIH Champions Trophy.

Here is the full schedule of the tournament (all matches will be played at Kalinga Hockey Stadium)

Pool A Pool B
Australia (World No. 1)Netherlands (2)
Belgium (4)Germany (3)
England (5)Argentina (7)
Pakistan (11)India (9)
Match Schedule (All times in IST)
DateMatch Number Time Pool Match
Saturday 6 December112:00AAustralia Vs England
 214:00ABelgium Vs Pakistan
 317:30BNetherlands Vs Argentina
 419:30BGermany Vs India
Sunday 7 December512:00ABelgium Vs Australia
 614:00AEngland Vs Pakistan
 717:30BGermany Vs Netherlands
 819:30BArgentina Vs India
Monday 8 December Rest Day  
Tuesday 9 December912:00BArgentina Vs Germany
 1014:00AEngland Vs Belgium
 1117:30AAustralia Vs Pakistan
 1219:30BNetherlands Vs India
Wednesday 10 December Rest Day  
Thursday 11 December1311:30Quarter-final 1Netherlands Vs Pakistan
 1413:45QF2Argentina Vs Australia
 1517:15QF3England Vs Germany
 1619:30QF4India Vs Belgium
Friday 12 December Rest Day  
Saturday 13 December1711:30Classification - 5-8Belgium Vs Netherlands
 1813:45Classification - 5-8England Vs Argentina
 1917:15Semi-final 1Germany Vs Australia
 2019:30Semi-final 2India Vs Pakistan
Sunday 14 December2111:30Classification 7/8(Losers of Match 17/18)
 2213:455/6(Winners of Match 17/18)
 2317:153/4(Losers of Match 19/20)
 2419:30Final(Winners of Match 19/20)

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...