Group winners set a new World Cup record in Brazil

Subscribe to Oneindia News
Argentina's Angel di Maria celebrates after scoring his side's only and winning goal in extra time against Switzerland
Rio de Janeiro, July 2: For the first time in FIFA World Cup history, all 8 Group winners have progressed to the quarter-finals in Brazil.

Schedule; Results; News; Photos

Last night (July 1) saw the completion of Round of 16 matches and a record was set. All 8 teams which had topped their respective Groups in the first round, made it to the last eight stage.

Brazil (Group A), Netherlands (B), Colombia (C), Costa Rica (D), France (E), Argentina (F), Germany (G) and Belgium (H) had been the number one teams in their respective groups. They all had maintained an unbeaten record in the group stages and have now entered quarter-finals with the same.

This has happened in World Cup for the first time since the current format was introduced in 1986. Among these 8, Netherlands, Colombia, Argentina and Belgium are the 4 to have won all their 4 matches so far. The other 4 teams (Brazil, France, Germany, Costa Rica) had one drawn game apiece in the group stage.

Quarter-finals Line-up

  • Brazil Vs Colombia
  • France Vs Germany
  • Argentina Vs Belgium
  • Netherlands Vs Costa Rica

How the Group winners fared in previous World Cups

1986 - 3 out of 6 progressed

1990 - 4 out of 6

1994 - 4 out of 6

1998 - 6 out of 8

2002 - 4 out of 8

2006 - 6 out of 8

2010 - 7 out of 8

2014 - 8 out of 8

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...