ISL 2016: Semi-finals' schedule, teams, TV info

Mumbai City, Kerala Blasters, Delhi Dynamos and Atletico de Kolkata (in order of their league position) are the teams who have qualified for the two-legged semi-finals.

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bengaluru, Dec 6: The Indian Super League (ISL) 2016 has reached its business end as four out of the eight teams have been eliminated after the league stage.

All leagues special site; ISL points table; Full list of squads for ISL 2016

Mumbai City FC, Kerala Blasters, Delhi Dynamos and Atletico de Kolkata (in order of their league position) are the teams who have qualified for the two-legged semi-finals.

From left: CK Vineeth, Florent Malouda, Diego Forlan, Iain Hume (Images courtesy: ISL Twitter handle)

Mumbai City FC have been the most impressive outfit in the tournament this year who topped the league with 23 points from 14 outings.

They have a very strong squad to boast about consisting of players like Defederico, Sony Norde, Indian ace Sunil Chhetri and of course their evergreen and legendary marquee player Diego Forlan.

Under the tutelage of an experienced coach like Alexandre Guimaraes, the Mumbai-based side have finally found their much-needed momentum after two disappointing seasons. They are expected to reach the finals.

Kerala Blasters have had a topsy-turvy run this season. After a poor start to their season, Steve Coppell's boys have come back strongly to qualify for the semi-finals finishing second in the league.

The addition of local star CK Vineeth, who joined late due to his commitments with Bengaluru FC, has bolstered the squad heavily.

Vineeth has managed to score 5 goals so far and is also the highest Indian goal scorer in the current season. They have very interesting semi-final clash against an equally strong Delhi Dynamos side.

Delhi Dynamos enjoyed a good run of form this season as they lost just 3 games out of 14. After leading the charts for a considerable amount of time, Gianluca Zambrotta's team faltered in the end which resulted in them being placed in number 3 after the league stage.

Delhi take on Kerala in an exciting semi-finals fixtures. Fans can expect a lot of fireworks from the two-legged knock-out matches.

Atletico de Kolkata is now officially the most successful team in the history of ISL, as they qualified for the semi-finals for three consecutive seasons. No other team in ISL has achieved such a feat.

Jose Molina's ATK have had a decent run in the tournament winning only 4 matches out of 14. Out of those 4 wins, 3 came away from home which reflects their dismal home record.

The coach after the league stage had even complained how the poor atmosphere at the new Rabindra Sarobar Stadium affected their home record this season.

They are pitted against a strong Mumbai City FC side and in order to win the two-legged semi-finals they have to improve their performance, especially at home.

Here is the full schedule of ISL 2016 semi-finals

December 10, Saturday

Atletico de Kolkata Vs Mumbai City FC - 7:00 PM (IST) - Rabindra Sarobar Stadium (Kolkata)

December 11, Sunday

Kerala Blasters Vs Delhi Dynamos - 7:00 PM (IST) - Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium (Kochi)

December 13, Tuesday

Mumbai City FC Vs Atletico de Kolkata - 7:00 PM (IST) - Mumbai Football Arena (Mumbai)

December 14, Wednesday

Delhi Dynamos Vs Kerala Blasters - 7:00 PM (IST) - Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium (Delhi)

Final: December 18, Sunday - 7:00 PM (IST) - Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium (Kochi)

TV info

All the matches will be telecasted LIVE on Star Networks and Hotstar

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...