Zimbabwe and West Indies tours: India ODI, T20I and Test squads announced

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Mumbai, May 23: Virat Kohli and other regular players were today (May 23) not picked for India's limited overs tour to Zimbabwe next month (June 11-22). Mahendra Singh Dhoni was retained as captain of the squad which has many new faces.

Ind-Zim tour schedule

Legspinner Yuzvendra Chahal, who has had an impressive run in the current Indian Premier League 2016 (IPL 9) was called up along with uncapped Mandeep Singh, Karun Nair, Jayant Yadav and Faiz Fazal. Seniors Yuvraj Singh and Harbhajan Singh were not included.

MS Dhoni will lead the ODI, T20I squads

Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina, Shikhar Dhawan, Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Ajinkya Rahane were not picked. India will play 3 ODIs and 3 T20Is in Zimbabwe.

According to the selection committee chairman Sandeep Patil, no player was "rested". "No one has been rested. No one wrote to BCCI or called us (to say) they were not available or they should be rested. It was the decision of the selection committee to pick a young side for Zimbabwe and another side for West Indies," Patil told reporters on Monday.

Vidarbha's left-handed opening batsman Fazal had hit a century (127) in Rest of India's win over Mumbai earlier this year. He had done well in Deodhar Trophy too and has been rewarded.

The selectors also announed a 17-member Test squad for the tour of West Indies in July and August. India will play 4 Tests. The schedule is yet to be finalised.

Virat Kohli will lead the side while Ajinkya Rahane has been handed the responsibility of vice-captaincy.

Uncapped Mumbai right-arm paceman Shardul Thakur was called up to the Test team while Varun Aaron and Gurkeerat Singh Mann were dropped.

The 24-year-old Thakur was Mumbai's highest wicket-taker in Ranji Trophy 2015-16 season. He took 41 wickets as the team clinched the title for a record 41st time.

India last played a Test series in December 2015, at home, against South Africa. They had won 3-0.

A file picture of Shardul Thakur

India's 16-man ODI and T20I squad for Zimbabwe tour

MS Dhoni (captain and wicketkeeper), KL Rahul, Faiz Fazal, Manish Pandey, Karun Nair, Ambati Rayudu, Rishi Dhawan, Axar Patel, Jayant Yadav, Dhawal Kulkarni, Jasprit Bumrah, Barinder Sran, Mandeep Singh, Kedar Jadhav, Jaydev Unadkat, Yuzvendra Chahal.

In - Rahul, Fazal, Nair, Rayudu, Dhawan, Patel, Yadav, Kulkarni, Mandeep, Jadhav, Unadkat, Chahal

Out - Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, Hardik Pandya, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Harbhajan Singh, Ajinkya Rahane, Mohammed Shami, Pawan Negi, Ashish Nehra

India's 17-member Test Squad for West Indies tour

Virat Kohli (captain), Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Rohit Sharma, Wriddhiman Saha (wicketkeeper), R Ashwin, Amit Mishra, Ravindra Jadeja, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Shardul Thakur, Stuart Binny.

In - Thakur, Shami

Out - Aaron, Gurkeerat

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...