World T20: India to face West Indies, South Africa in warm-up matches

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bengaluru, Feb 16: Former champions India will play 2 warm-up matches at the ICC World Twenty20 2016 tournament, the International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced.

Full schedule of the tournament; Squads for WT20

World T20, which will be held in India from March 8 to April 3, features 16 teams. Matches will be played across 8 venues.

A file picture of Indian players during a T20I

Before the actual tournament, the teams will be involved in warm-up games. Mahendra Singh Dhoni-led India will face West Indies and South Africa in practice matches.

"Teams taking part in the first round will play their warm-up matches in Dharamsala and Mohali from 3-6 March, while sides featuring in the second round will play warm-up matches in Kolkata and Mumbai from 10-15 March," ICC said on Monday (February 15).

India play the West Indies at Kolkata's Eden Gardens on March 10 and then move to Mumbai to face South Africa at Wankhede Stadium on March 12.

India, who have direct entry to the Super 10 stage, open campaign against New Zealand on March 15 in Nagpur. The hosts are in Group 2 with Australia, New Zealand, Pakistan and winner of Group A (from first stage).

ICC World T20 warm-up match schedule (All times IST)

3 March - Zimbabwe Vs local side, HPCA Stadium, Dharamsala (3 PM); Ireland Vs Hong Kong*, HPCA Stadium, Dharamsala (7.30 PM)

4 March - Netherlands Vs local side, Sector-16, Mohali (3 PM); Scotland Vs Oman*, IS Bindra Stadium, Mohali (7.30 PM)

5 March - Ireland Vs Zimbabwe, HPCA Stadium, Dharamsala (3 PM); Bangladesh Vs Hong Kong*, HPCA Stadium, Dharamsala (7.30 PM)

6 March - Scotland Vs Netherlands, Sector-16, Mohali (3 PM); Oman Vs Afghanistan*, IS Bindra Stadium, Mohali (7.30 PM)

10 March - New Zealand Vs Sri Lanka, Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai (7.30 PM); India Vs West Indies, Eden Gardens, Kolkata (7.30 PM)

12 March - New Zealand Vs England, BKC, Mumbai (3 PM); Pakistan Vs local side, JU, Kolkata (3 PM); India Vs South Africa, Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai (7.30 PM)

13 March - Australia Vs West Indies, Eden Gardens, Kolkata (7.30 PM)

14 March - England Vs local side, BKC, Mumbai (3 PM); Pakistan Vs Sri Lanka, Eden Gardens, Kolkata (3 PM)

15 March - South Africa Vs local side, BKC, Mumbai (3 PM)

* If Afghanistan, Hong Kong or Oman reach the second round of the Asia Cup, then their warm-up matches will be rescheduled accordingly.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...