World T20 Final: Who will create history in Kolkata - West Indies or England?

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Kolkata, April 2: Whoever wins the ICC World Twenty20 title tomorrow (April 3) at the Eden Gardens, will create history.

World T20 Special Site; Photos

The finalits - West Indies and England will battle it out on Sunday night (7 PM IST) for the title. The champions will set a record, becoming the first team in World T20 history to claim the trophy twice. (Reserve day for the final)

West Indies players celebrate after defeating India in the World T20 semi-final

Before the start of this year's tournament, no team had won the title twice. However, with former champions West Indies and England both in the title round, it will change on Sunday.

Eoin Morgan-led England ousted New Zealand in the semi-final in New Delhi. The Kiwis were unbeaten till the semi-finals.

West Indies, captained by Darren Sammy, put paid to the hopes of hosts India at Mumbai's Wankhede Stadium in a high-scoring last-four encounter.

Both West Indies and England had met in the Super 10 stage where the former triumphed by 6 wickets thanks to Chris Gayle's unbeaten century in Nagpur. They chased down 183.

England won the trophy in 2010 defeating Australia in the final. West Indies took home the silverware in 2012 by beating Sri Lanka.

World T20 champions

2007 - India

2009 - Pakistan

2010 - England

2012 - West Indies

2014 - Sri Lanka

2016 - ?


England: Eoin Morgan (captain), Alex Hales, Jason Roy, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan, Jos Buttler (wicketkeeper), Moeen Ali, Adil Rasheed, Chris Jordan, David Willey, Liam Plunkett, James Vince, Reece Topley, Liam Dawson, Sam Billings.

West Indies: Darren Sammy (captain), Samuel Badree, Sulieman Benn, Carlos Brathwaite, Dwayne Bravo, Johnson Charles, Lendl Simmons, Chris Gayle, Jason Holder, Evin Lewis, Ashley Nurse, Denesh Ramdin (wicketkeeper), Andre Russell, Marlon Samuels, Jerome Taylor.

Match starts 7 PM IST (Live on Star Sports)

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...